Fantasy Books Recs

Copia de SPRINGTIME (6)

Hi guys I hope you’re having a great day! Today I bring you some recommendations from my favorite fantasy books, I haven’t made a recommendation post for a long time and I love doing them, I love sharing my favorites with you and that you also tell me about yours, so I thought it was time to make another one.
I have 2 more post of this type if you’re interested: Fast-Paced Contemporary Books Recs & LGBT Books Recs!
I’ve had a fantastic fantasy month, I’ve been reading this genre a lot and one book is better than the other, this has inspired me a lot to make this post, recommending those that I’ve enjoyed the most, but above all, I would say that this post is inspired mainly by The Midnight Star (The Young Elites, # 3) by Marie Lu and also of course by the great revelation of this year: The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air, # 1) by Holly Black, so without further ado, let’s start!



The books that inspired this post


Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke & Bone #1) by Laini Taylor

13600168Around the world, black hand prints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherworldly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

Goodreads


Shadow and Bone (The Grishaverse #1) by Leigh Bardugo

10194157Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.

Shadow and Bone is the first installment in Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha Trilogy. 

Goodreads


Frostblood (Frostblood Saga #1) by Elly Blake

27827203Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has concealed her powers of heat and flame from the cruel Frostblood ruling class her entire life. But when her mother is killed trying to protect her, and rebel Frostbloods demand her help to overthrow their bloodthirsty king, she agrees to come out of hiding, desperate to have her revenge.

Despite her unpredictable abilities, Ruby trains with the rebels and the infuriating – yet irresistible – Arcus, who seems to think of her as nothing more than a weapon. But before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to compete in the king’s tournaments that pit Fireblood prisoners against Frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her – and from the icy young man she has come to love. 

Goodreads


Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes #1) by Sara Raasch 

17399160A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making.

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

Goodreads


Poison Study (Poison Study #1) by Maria V. Snyder

60510Choose: A quick death…Or slow poison…

About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She’ll eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace—and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia.

And so Yelena chooses to become a food taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly’s Dust—and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison.

As Yelena tries to escape her new dilemma, disasters keep mounting. Rebels plot to seize Ixia and Yelena develops magical powers she can’t control. Her life is threatened again and choices must be made. But this time the outcomes aren’t so clear… 

Goodreads


Caraval (Caraval #1) by Stephanie Garber

27883214Remember, it’s only a game…

Scarlett Dragna has never left the tiny island where she and her sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval—the faraway, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show—are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt-of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. Nevertheless she becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic. And whether Caraval is real or not, Scarlett must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over or a dangerous domino effect of consequences will be set off, and her beloved sister will disappear forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval…beware of getting swept too far away.

Goodreads


Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo

23437156Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:

Break into the notorious Ice Court
(a military stronghold that has never been breached)

Retrieve a hostage
(who could unleash magical havoc on the world)

Survive long enough to collect his reward
(and spend it)

Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first. 

Goodreads



I have other books that I’ve loved but although other people have categorized them in the fantasy genre, I really don’t think they’re in their entirety in that category, for me those books are more other type of genrer, so I’ll name them in other recommendations post
I’ll be making another Recs post next month, possibly from my favorite paranormal readings!, so stay tuned!



Now I would love to hear your RECs for me!

Let me know your favorite Fantasy Books in the comments!

find me at

Goodreads | Twitter ❤

48 thoughts on “Fantasy Books Recs

  1. Wonderful recs !!! I loved Caraval and Daughter of Smoke&Bone, The Grisha trilogy and Six of Crows are on my TBR this year! Also check out a thousand pieces of you by Claudia gray. It’s a time traveling sci-fi fantasy read. You can check out the review on my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Completely agree with the books on this list! I tried to get into Daughter of Smoke and Bone a few years ago, and I remember that it didn’t really entice me. I only read about 50 pages though, and I don’t remember much about it. I’m really interested in reading it again, does it pick up after a certain point in the book? Or is it one of those books where you have to wait til the second book for the actual story to get going?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh that’s a difficult question! The first book is amazing for me, but if you have problems going into it I understand it, the real plot begins in the second book after there is a great revelation at the end of the first book, so I recommend that you try again, since the great fantasy content occurs in the second and third books and is absolutely epic 😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a great list! Fantastic recommendations! (See what I did there? Gosh, I’m funny.)
    I can’t remember if we’ve discussed Brandon Sanderson or not yet. He has some great fantasy stuff. Have you read any of his? I really can’t remember….. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  4. amazing list, i absolutely love daughter of smoke and bone, six of crows, and shadow and bone! i might be one of a few who prefers the grisha trilogy over six of crows duology 🙂 however, i feel like dosab trilogy went downhill as the series went 😦 have you ever read splintered by a.g howard? i really enjoyed the twisted wonderland vibe there!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks💕! I’m so happy that you’ve loved them. Oh I have also enjoyed The Grisha trilogy more, but I have to read the second book of the Six of Crows duology yet. Thanks for the recs! I haven’t read it but I’ll check it out 😄😄

      Like

  5. […] Hi guys!, I hope you’re having a great day. Today I bring you some recommendations from my favorite paranormal books, I love books with paranormal aspects. I remember when I had just started to read was the only thing I read, I was really obsessed with this genre, vampires, werewolves, wizards and above all lots of magic and super powers, all those good things, even to this day is something that I love to see included in books I hope you enjoy my recommendations and as I always say, I would love to know yours.    I have 3 more post of this type if you’re interested: Fast-Paced Contemporary Books Recs/LGBT Books Recs!& Fantasy Books Recs […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.