Book Review: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

17399160Title: Snow Like Ashes

By:  Sara Raasch

Published: October 14th 2014

By: Balzer + Bray

Genre: YA-Fantasy-Romance

A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making.

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

Goodreads

Continue reading

Standalone Sunday #5

copia-de-copia-de-copia-de-lamington-2

Hello everyone! I hope everyone is having an incredible weekend!
Today I bring you a Standalone Sunday that is a feature created by Megan @bookslayerReads, where we will feature a standalone book (not part of a series) that you loved or would recommend 🙂


I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

20820994A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Goodreads


Oh guys this book is so amazing, magical and easy to read!
It was the first book I’ve added without hesitation to my list of favorites this year
I didn’t expect to fall in love with this reading as I did, once I started with it, it was so difficult for me to put it down, I would have read it in one sitting without thinking if I had had the time
We follow the story of Jude and her twin brother Noah, and the interesting thing about this story is how different these characters are from each other, this gives a lot of diversity and different perspectives of situations, which is great.
I love the way it’s written jumping between past chapters and present chapters, where we can see clearly how life is changing for them, as their personalities are totally different in the present and this is due to a lot of situations that happen during the book.
It’s a story of discovery, struggle, overcoming, these boys really are so lost and we see how they both get to touch the bottom and struggle to get up every time, but especially what I think the writer wanted to point out was the importance of family and the love beetween brothers, and how this love can in the end against all adversities
This book makes you think. Who are you ?, What do you want for your life? , What is important for you? What would you do for love? It’s so deep.
It made me laugh, cry and fall in love, and now I would love for all of you to be encouraged to read it, so that you can feel all these things for yourselves



Let me know in the comments, I always love to know what you think.

You can also find me at Goodreads and Twitter ❤

Short Review: The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan

22449288Title: The Titan’s Curse (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #3)

By: Rick Riordan

Published: May 5th 2007

By: Disney Hyperion Books

Genre: YA-Contemporary-Fantasy-Mythology

IT’S NOT EVERYDAY YOU FIND YOURSELF IN COMBAT WITH A HALF-LION, HALF-HUMAN.

But when you’re the son of a Greek god, it happens. And now my friend Annabeth is missing, a goddess is in chains and only five half-blood heroes can join the quest to defeat the doomsday monster.

Oh and guess what. The Oracle has predicted that not all of us will survive…

Goodreads

Continue reading

Coffee Book Tag

Hi guys, I hope you are having a beautiful day !.
Today I bring you a book tag, because I haven’t done it for a long time, and today I really feel like doing one, so I did a quick search and I found the “Coffee Book Tag”, and I love coffee so I thought it would be fun, because Cafe + Books: Perfection.
I’ve found this tag on the Paper Fury blog, Check it out!, is a beautiful and super entertaining blog, you’ll love it
So, without further ado, let’s get started!

A Book A Thought (4)

Continue reading

Book Review: The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

31752165Title:The One Memory of Flora Banks

By: Emily Barr

Published: May 2nd 2017

By: Philomel Books

Genre: YA-Contemporary-Family-Mystery

Seventeen-year-old Flora Banks has no short-term memory. Her mind resets itself several times a day, and has since the age of ten, when the tumor that was removed from Flora’s brain took with it her ability to make new memories. That is, until she kisses Drake, her best friend’s boyfriend, the night before he leaves town. Miraculously, this one memory breaks through Flora’s fractured mind, and sticks. Flora is convinced that Drake is responsible for restoring her memory and making her whole again. So when an encouraging email from Drake suggests she meet him on the other side of the world, Flora knows with certainty that this is the first step toward reclaiming her life.

With little more than the words “be brave” inked into her skin, and written reminders of who she is and why her memory is so limited, Flora sets off on an impossible journey to Svalbard, Norway, the land of the midnight sun, determined to find Drake. But from the moment she arrives in the arctic, nothing is quite as it seems, and Flora must “be brave” if she is ever to learn the truth about herself, and to make it safely home.

Goodreads

Continue reading

Book Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston

30724132Title: Geekerella

By: Ashley Poston

Published: April 4th 2017

By: Quirk Books

Genre: YA-Romance-Contemporary

Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fueled twist on the classic fairy tale.

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

Goodreads

Continue reading