LGBT Books Recs!

Copia de SPRINGTIME (6)

This post is totally inspired by the book I’m currently reading and loving, We Are Okay by Nina LaCour, I’m so close to finish with it, but I don’t want to 😦 I think this will be a favorite! OMG SO GOOD! *Feelings everywhere*. And I was thinking that the two books I’ve added to my list of favorites this year are LGBT books, so I came up with my favorites of the genre and I hope you can recommend me more of them because it’s a genre that I discovered this year, is new to me and makes me soooo happy when I read about, so I really want to add more to my TBR



The book that inspired this post

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

28243032You go through life thinking there’s so much you need…

Until you leave with only your phone, your wallet, and a picture of your mother.

Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old life since the day she left everything behind. No one knows the truth about those final weeks. Not even her best friend, Mabel. But even thousands of miles away from the California coast, at college in New York, Marin still feels the pull of the life and tragedy she’s tried to outrun. Now, months later, alone in an emptied dorm for winter break, Marin waits. Mabel is coming to visit, and Marin will be forced to face everything that’s been left unsaid and finally confront the loneliness that has made a home in her heart.

Goodreads


 

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

20820994“We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story.”

At first, Jude and her twin brother are NoahandJude; inseparable. Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude wears red-red lipstick, cliff-dives, and does all the talking for both of them.

Years later, they are barely speaking. Something has happened to change the twins in different yet equally devastating ways . . . but then Jude meets an intriguing, irresistible boy and a mysterious new mentor.

The early years are Noah’s to tell; the later years are Jude’s. But they each have only half the story, and if they can only find their way back to one another, they’ll have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant, award-winning novel from the acclaimed author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Goodreads

My Full Review


History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

30102870When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.

To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.

If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.

Goodreads

My Full Review


Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

12000020Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.

Goodreads

My Full Review


Every Heart a Doorway (Wayward Children #1) by Seanan McGuire

25526296Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children
No Solicitations
No Visitors
No Quests

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere… else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced… they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

No matter the cost.

Goodreads

My Full Review



Well, those are my recommendation, I know that there aren’t many, so now I would love to hear your recs for me!

Let me know your favorite LGBT book in the comments!

find me at

Goodreads | Twitter ❤

34 thoughts on “LGBT Books Recs!

  1. We Are Okay is amazing! I also loved You Know Me Well, which Nina LaCour co-wrote with David Levithan! Other than that there’s Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde, The Seafarer’s Kiss by Julia Ember, Peter Darling by Austin Chant (though that’s more on the Adult Romance side of things) and I really liked thanks a lot, John LeClair by Johanna Parkhurst (it’s a companion novel to another book of hers that I haven’t read yet, but I didn’t have problems understanding the story).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LGBT being a separate genre seems a bit like segregation, doesn’t it? If you take a romance story, and the characters happen to be LGBT, why does that need to be put into another category? Why can’t it go with the rest of the romance novels?
    I’m not trying to stir the pot, it just strikes me as odd. Am I missing something that makes it a completely different genre?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I completely understand what you say, here I meant that I would love to read more books that contain LGBT characters and romance. I’m sorry if it sounded like something unrespectful I didn’t mean that, maybe I’ve express myself wrong. I really enjoyed these readings and wanted to share them with all, that’s all, I apologize again if you have found it rude 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • No, no, no. You didn’t disrespect me at all. I’m sorry if I implied that.

        I haven’t read any books that are officially classified LGBT (at least not that I know of) but from reading the descriptions of the above books, they seem like regular stories to be with LGBT characters. But, as I said, I don’t think I’ve read books of the genre so I was wondering if there was something I was missing. Some extra facet that makes them LGBT.

        Like

      • It’s just something that always puzzled me. I was curious to get some other opinions on the matter. Trust me, I’m not mad at anything, and I don’t think anything you said was disrespectful to anyone.

        Sorry again if I implied otherwise. Just looking for discussion.

        Like

  3. I’m celebrating GLBT Book Month this month, so most of my book reviews posted in the month of June feature characters that are LGBTQIA+. I’ve been finding some really interesting ones, but one I will definitely recommend is Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I LOVED Ari & Dante! That book was so cute! I’d suggest SIMON vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda and The Upside of Unrequited (both by Becky Albertalli). And the Shades of Magic series by VE Schwab is good too!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. These are great recommendations, I can’t wait to get my hands on We Are Okay 😊
    It’s amazing to see diverse recs here on my dashboard, keep but the great work! Have a nice day 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: The Sunday Post #25 | 23/07/2017 | Drink Coffee and Read books

Leave a Reply

