Book Review: Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

25733990Title: Sleeping Giants (Themis Files #1)

By: Sylvain Neuvel

Published: April 26th 2016

By: Del Rey

Genre: Sci-Fi-Mystery-Adult

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by a quest for truth—and a fight for control of earthshaking power.

Goodreads



A Book A Thought (2)

“Family has a way of bringing out the worst in people. Every people.”

description

This book is so difficult to explain, I think it’s the way it’s written through files where an unnamed man interviews a number of people which makes it so complicated to explain.

I consider the book quite entertaining at first and also very original, what I like the most is the mystery aura that invades the reading all the time, I had the feeling of restlessness and intrigue that was super interesting to experience, I liked that fact.

I feel that I would like to have been able to know more deeply the characters, since now that I have finished I don’t really feel that I have cared for any of them, on the other hand I understand that perhaps this hasn’t been possible due to the way in that is written, which doesn’t mean that I don’t like it, I think it’s great just this time it was weird for me, in fact the ending was pretty good but I still end up with more questions than answers

description

“I never understood why people use words they do not understand.”

I confess that I expected more from this reading, I thought I would love it, but although I have enjoyed it, it hasn’t been unforgettable for me,I expected a little more action but I feel that the plot is very focused on political and military talks , so I feel a little disappointed, but I can see how this book isn’t for everyone, based on its original format surely there will be satisfied people and people not satisfied with it. Personally I have felt a bit overwhelmed and a litlle bit lost in the middle, and from there I started to understand that maybe it’s just not for me or it’s not the kind of readings that I enjoy the most. In general I like dialogues a lot, but I understand how descriptions of places, personalities and others stuffs are equally important.

So I would recommend this book for those people who love to read science fiction, since it has a centralized plot on it,you will surely enjoy it, and for those who want to try a new style of format to read.

It was a heavy read for me and I really questioned if I would end it, but I forced myself to finish it because I wanted to give you all a complete opinion about the whole book.

description

I’m not sure that I’m going to be interested in continuing with the second book, maybe at some other time in my life I want to try again with this, maybe try the audio format, maybe I change my mind, but for now I know It’s not the type of reading for me, but I still really hope it’s for you.

PS: That cover is one of the most beautiful I’ve ever seen



Rating

2.5 / 5 Stars



Feel free to leave your comment below, I always love to know what you think🙂

find me at

Goodreads | Twitter ❤

22 thoughts on “Book Review: Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

  1. I’m sorry this book was such a confusing and heavy read for you. I always wanted to give this book a try but I haven’t gotten the chance yet. Nonetheless, great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Being honest is not a book I would recommend if what you’re looking for is action, on the other hand if you want to give it a chance I really hope you enjoy it more than I :).
      We are 100% agree, that cover is so beautiful!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy this so much. I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews. It seems to that a lot of people either loved it, or hated it. I wonder if a lot of it comes down to expectations going in. I’ll try and lower mine accordingly before I start it. Hope your next read is a 5 star for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Probably have to do with expectations, because being honest I expected much more from this book and I found something different, you know ?, anyway if you decide to give it a chance I hope you enjoy it more than I :). And thanks! , I’ll read I’ll Give You the Sun so wish me luck! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I really enjoyed this book and just finished the second. I felt like the first book was more about the wonder of discovery, but the second is much more action-oriented with some surprising twists. You should give it a try.

    Like

  4. I felt the same way about Sleeping Giants. At least it was a quick read, and the plot twist at the end was interesting, but ultimately not interesting enough for me to continue with the series. I just never felt that engaged with the book, which made it a disappointment!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. […] The truth is that my expectations when I started with this book were quite high, which today I think is one of the main points for what I have felt disappointed by, is a beautiful book, aesthetically is one of the most beautiful I’ve seen, but I did not like the content as much as its cover , in fact it has been a heavy reading and I haven’t managed to connect with any of the character, so I would say that it simply isn’t for me. If you want to know more of my thoughts about it I will leave you my review HERE! […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.