Book Review : “All the Ugly and Wonderful Things” By Bryn Greenwood.

26114135

Title : All the Ugly and Wonderful Things

By : Bryn Greenwood

Published :  August 9th 2016

By:   Thomas Dunne Books

Genre : Adul – Romance – Fiction – Contemporary

As the daughter of a meth dealer, Wavy knows not to trust people, not even her own parents. Struggling to raise her little brother, eight-year-old Wavy is the only responsible “adult” around. She finds peace in the starry Midwestern night sky above the fields behind her house. One night everything changes when she witnesses one of her father’s thugs, Kellen, a tattooed ex-con with a heart of gold, wreck his motorcycle. What follows is a powerful and shocking love story between two unlikely people that asks tough questions, reminding us of all the ugly and wonderful things that life has to offer.



Rating

3.5 / 5 Stars



Review

“I liked learning things. How numbers worked together to explain the stars. How molecules made the world. All the ugly and wonderful things people had done in the last two thousand years.”


Probably one of the hardest books to rate I’ve read.
The title gave the key!, It is so original, beautiful, and it makes perfect sense when you finish this book.

 

I think it’s an incredible book in many ways, the writing is amazing and very addictive, the way it is written has left me delighted.
But on the other hand there are many other things with which I have felt very uncomfortable, and probably this isn’t so strange, since the book touches a variety of very controversial and taboo subjects.

 

When I decided to read this book, I knew that it would catch me and that it would be a little dark, since from the beginning the book explains that it going to touche the drugs subject and childrens living a childwhood not appropriate for them, and yes, I was hooked, there is no doubt about it, but I found myself with much more than I thought it would be.

“I wanted a fairy tale ending for Wavy, because if she could find happiness, there would be hope for me, too.”

The book not only touches the themes promised, but also dares to go beyond, touching a very delicate issue that is the development of a relationship between an adult man and a girl. That is why I maintain that isn’t a book for averyone, if you are sensitive, you probably feel so uncomfortable that it forbids you to continue reading, but hey, even I don’t think you should avoid the book , since you could take a big surprise of it, Can come to like you, no only that, if you allow yourself to have an open mind, you could also see the world from another perspective, with other eyes.

 

When I met Wavy at first, I thought it was so unfair that such a small child live that way, she have to take care of her younger brother, the truth is that was so cruel and real that made me feel like it was actually real, to the point that I wanted everything to be good for her, I wanted to protect her, so when Kellen appears on the scene my thought was, oh my God!, finally someone is going to take care of her , ie, she can’t be going through all this alone . Anyway, I was so happy about that connection between them.

Then the romance began to develop and at first I thought that even if Wavy felt things for Kellen, that was somehow cute, because he was the first person to really take care of her, so I assumed it was something “normal”, but I never thought That Kellen felt the same way.

Obviously from the beginning we can see that Wavy isn’t a normal girl of her age, she doesn’t talk to anyone and is quite obstinate, but well, growing up with a family which doesn’t care about anything, that isn’t strange, but after she star to growing, as a reader, I could see how her mind never really grew up in a healthy way, she has a way of seeing life very adultly for her age, I mean, not in a healthy way , she is constantly surrounded by sexual activity which makes the most inappropriate things in some way normal for her.

 

“Most days I was impossible. Like a unicorn.”

 

Once she was growing up, I believed that everything would be fixed and that she would start to develop in a better way, but the only thing she achieve with her attitude is to become annoying for me, there were scenes guys, I just wanted to slap her lol, Wavy gets, more than once, the worst of me, the way it she acts is so inappropriate and meaningless that I just couldn’t understand it anymore.

 

Kellen on the other hand , proves at the beginning to be a good person, responsible and attentive, but as the story unfolds, I think that his decisions and actions were very unresponsible, I know it has to be that way to keep things “interesting”, but as the adult man of the situation, I think he have to have much better control of situations, on the other hand, he only let himself be carried away and everything was going to hell.

 

“From Alpha Centauri, we were twin stars, side by side.”

 

About the secondary characters I really liked Amy, I think she’s adorable and she was always very understanding with Wavy. I also really liked the character of Wavy’s aunt, this woman has to go through a lot and I think it’s admirable the way she carries the whole thing.

 But at one point I felt that all the adults were a little stupid, since they acted as if they didn’t find any problem in a relationship of a 10 year old girl with a man over 20, it was like “Oh, if you are going to get married with her then that’s fine” and I was like “WTH ”

Anyway, the best thing that I will take from this book is its originality and the beautiful form in the author describes everything, I couldn’t give less stars, because I have so many opinions found inside me, and the truth that when that happens to me, I think The book has fulfilled its purpose and is to be controversial and touch very strong issues of life, I will leave you in shock, that I assure you.

If you give him a chance at some point I would love to know what you think. Surely it is a book I will carry in my mind for a while.

P.S: I’d love to read more about the author in the future 🙂



I invite you to leave your comment below, I would love to know what you think!

Thanks for passing by!

You can also find me at Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Book Review : “All the Ugly and Wonderful Things” By Bryn Greenwood.

Leave a Reply

