My Boyfriend (Milo) Review: One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus

Title: One of Us is Lying

ByKaren M. McManus

Pages: 361

PublishedMay 30th 2017

ByDelacorte Press

Genre: YA|Contemporary|Mystery|Thriller|Crime

Buy itBook Depository

The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars, One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.
Pay close attention and you might solve this.
On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.
Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.
Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.
AndSimon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.
Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention, Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?
Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.”

Goodreads

Continue reading

Advertisements

Book Review: Sadie by Courtney Summers

Title: Sadie

By: Courtney Summers

Pages: 311

Published: September 4th 2018

By: Wednesday Books

Genre: YA|Contemporary|Mystery|Thriller|Crime

Buy itBook Depository

Sadie hasn’t had an easy life. Growing up on her own, she’s been raising her sister Mattie in an isolated small town, trying her best to provide a normal life and keep their heads above water.

But when Mattie is found dead, Sadie’s entire world crumbles. After a somewhat botched police investigation, Sadie is determined to bring her sister’s killer to justice and hits the road following a few meagre clues to find him.

When West McCray—a radio personality working on a segment about small, forgotten towns in America—overhears Sadie’s story at a local gas station, he becomes obsessed with finding the missing girl. He starts his own podcast as he tracks Sadie’s journey, trying to figure out what happened, hoping to find her before it’s too late.

Goodreads

Continue reading

Book Review: The Lives of Desperate Girls by MacKenzie Common

33672985Title: The Lives of Desperate Girls

By: MacKenzie Common

PublicationSeptember 19th 2017

By: Penguin Teen

Genre: YA-Contemporary-Mystery-Crime-ARC-Dark

One small, northern community. Two girls gone — one missing, the other dead. A riveting coming-of-age debut young adult novel for fans of Everything I Never Told You and All the Bright Places.

Sixteen-year-old Helen Commanda is found dead just outside Thunder Creek, Ontario. Her murder goes unremarked, except for the fact that it may shed light on the earlier disappearance of Chloe Shaughnessy. Chloe is beautiful, rich and white. Helen is plain, and from the reservation. They had nothing in common except that they were teenage girls from an unforgiving small town. Only Chloe’s best friend Jenny Parker knows exactly how unforgiving, but she’s keeping some dangerous secrets of her own.
Jenny begins looking for answers about Helen’s life and death, trying to understand larger questions about her town and her best friend. But what can a teenage girl really accomplish where adults have failed? And how much is Jenny actually complicit in a conspiracy of silence? 

Goodreads

Continue reading

Book Review: The Girl In The Ice/Te Vere Bajo el Hielo by Robert Bryndza

33536851Title: Original: The Girl In The Ice (Detective Erika Foster #1). Spanish Edition: Te Vere Bajo el Hielo

By: Robert Bryndza

Published: First published : February 12th 2016/ Spanish: March 16th 2017

By: Bookouture/ Spanish Edition: Roca Editorial

Genre: Mystery-Thriller-Dark-Contemporary-Adult-Crime

Llega una nueva y adictiva serie de thrillers protagonizada por la detective Erika Foster. Más de 1.000.000 de ejemplares vendidos. Su cuerpo está congelado. Sus ojos abiertos han visto la muerte. Sus labios, delicadamente separados, parecen estar a punto de decir algo. ¿Qué oscuros secretos esconde la chica que está bajo el hielo? Un joven descubre el cadáver de una chica debajo de una gruesa capa de hielo en un parque del sur de Londres. La detective Erika Foster será la encargada de dirigir la investigación del caso, mientras lucha contra sus propios demonios personales. Cuando Erika comienza a indagar en el pasado de la víctima, todo parece apuntar a que su asesinato está conectado con el homicidio de otras tres mujeres que han sido encontradas con signos de estrangulación, las manos atadas y, sospechosamente, también bajo las aguas congeladas de otros lagos en Londres. Poco a poco, Erika se aproxima a la verdad, sin sospechar que el asesino quizá también la observa y se acerca cada vez más a ella



Her eyes are wide open. Her lips parted as if to speak. Her dead body frozen in the ice…She is not the only one.

When a young boy discovers the body of a woman beneath a thick sheet of ice in a South London park, Detective Erika Foster is called in to lead the murder investigation.

The victim, a beautiful young socialite, appeared to have the perfect life. Yet when Erika begins to dig deeper, she starts to connect the dots between the murder and the killings of three prostitutes, all found strangled, hands bound and dumped in water around London.

What dark secrets is the girl in the ice hiding?

As Erika inches closer to uncovering the truth, the killer is closing in on Erika.

The last investigation Erika led went badly wrong… resulting in the death of her husband. With her career hanging by a thread, Erika must now battle her own personal demons as well as a killer more deadly than any she’s faced before. But will she get to him before he strikes again?

A page-turning thriller packed with suspense. If you like Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter, discover Robert Bryndza’s new series today.

Watch out for more from DCI Erika Foster

She’s fearless. Respected. Unstoppable. Detective Erika Foster will catch a killer, whatever it takes.

Goodreads

Continue reading

Book Review : The Butterfly Garden By Dot Hutchison

27383717

Title : The Butterfly Garden

By : Dot Hutchison

Published: June 1st 2016

By Thomas & Mercer

Genre:  Thriller- Mystery- Crime – ARC- Favorites

Near an isolated mansion lies a beautiful garden.

In this garden grow luscious flowers, shady trees…and a collection of precious “butterflies”—young women who have been kidnapped and intricately tattooed to resemble their namesakes. Overseeing it all is the Gardener, a brutal, twisted man obsessed with capturing and preserving his lovely specimens.

When the garden is discovered, a survivor is brought in for questioning. FBI agents Victor Hanoverian and Brandon Eddison are tasked with piecing together one of the most stomach-churning cases of their careers. But the girl, known only as Maya, proves to be a puzzle herself.

As her story twists and turns, slowly shedding light on life in the Butterfly Garden, Maya reveals old grudges, new saviors, and horrific tales of a man who’d go to any length to hold beauty captive. But the more she shares, the more the agents have to wonder what she’s still hiding…

Goodreads



Rating

5 / 5 Stars

Continue reading