Book Review: Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

23308087Title: Flame in the Mist

By: Renee Ahdieh

Published: May 16th 2017

By: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Genre: YA-Fantasy-Romance

The daughter of a prominent samurai, Mariko has long known her place—she may be an accomplished alchemist, whose cunning rivals that of her brother Kenshin, but because she is not a boy, her future has always been out of her hands. At just seventeen years old, Mariko is promised to Minamoto Raiden, the son of the emperor’s favorite consort—a political marriage that will elevate her family’s standing. But en route to the imperial city of Inako, Mariko narrowly escapes a bloody ambush by a dangerous gang of bandits known as the Black Clan, who she learns has been hired to kill her before she reaches the palace.

Dressed as a peasant boy, Mariko sets out to infiltrate the ranks of the Black Clan, determined to track down the person responsible for the target on her back. But she’s quickly captured and taken to the Black Clan’s secret hideout, where she meets their leader, the rebel ronin Takeda Ranmaru, and his second-in-command, his best friend Okami. Still believing her to be a boy, Ranmaru and Okami eventually warm to Mariko, impressed by her intellect and ingenuity. As Mariko gets closer to the Black Clan, she uncovers a dark history of secrets, of betrayal and murder, which will force her to question everything she’s ever known.

Goodreads

Continue reading

May TBR :) [2017]

Yay! Today I bring my TBR for the month of May, for some reason to plan my tbr excited me alot, it’s like one of my favorite post to do after the reviews, so Yeah!. Well, I hope everyone is having a great week start, here in Argentina is the Worker’s Day so almost everyone is free today, so for me it will be a reading day !, I’m so happy!

I want to tell you that I’m reading Flame in the Mist right now I plan to finish it today and if everything goes as I plan to upload my review tomorrow here on the blog, so wish me luck, I’m really enjoying the book so far.

Turning full on my May TBR, this time I have a somewhat ambitious plan, I want to get to read 7 books at least so I’ll be struggling to achieve it. LET’S GET STARTED!

copia-de-copia-de-copia-de-copia-de-lamington-3 Continue reading

April Wrap Up [2017]

Hi guys! I hope you all are having a great weekend. Today I bring you my April Wrap Up! Which is where I tell you about my readings of the month, so let’s start.
I’ve had a very good month, I was pretty focused on finishing a couple of my ARCs this month and I’ve done it, so I’m really happy about it, Anyway I still have more, which I will be reading and reviewing in the coming months, I really want to take those books seriously and be as “professional” as possible about this, you know what I mean? , I always appreciate when an Arc is provided to me, so I want to be responsible with it. So yeah, I’m just trying to give my best about it 🙂
So this month I have been able to reading 6 books, a number with which I’m super happy and comfortable every month :D, As for the quality of the reading I would say that I loved the half of the books, while the other half wasn’t so good, so I’d say it’s 50/50 this month, although I’ve added one more book to my favorites list !! and that didn’t happen for a long time, YAY! , so without further ado, let’s do it!

copia-de-copia-de-copia-de-lamington Continue reading

Book Review: Ashes to Ashes by Valerie Thomas

34443083Title: Ashes to Ashes

By: Valerie Thomas

Published: March 1st 2017

By: Ebbing Neptune Publishing

Genre: Mystery-YA-Contemporary-Romance

From tragedy came power. And from mishandled power came mystery.

After moving into a new gated community with her family, Natalie is ready to begin a peaceful year at Emerson High. A year complete with boy troubles, school dances, new friends… everything an average girl could expect.

Then she starts receiving notes warning her not to go to school November first. Notes in her day planner, on a piece of homework, on a homecoming ticket… The more notes she receives the more details she uncovers, and the clearer it becomes: words like peaceful and average are about the worst ones anyone could use to describe the year she’s about to have. Crazy? Maybe. Violent? Definitely. Heart-wrenching, mind-blowing, life-changing?

Well, that remains to be seen. All Natalie knows from the start is that she shouldn’t go to school on November first. And maybe you shouldn’t either.

Goodreads

Continue reading

Book Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

20820994Title: I’ll Give You the Sun

By: Jandy Nelson

Published: September 16th 2014

By:  Dial Books

Genre: YA-Contemporary-Romance-Glbt-Family-Favorite

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Goodreads

Continue reading