November TBR [2017]

Copia de Copia de SPRINGTIME (2)

Hi babes! I hope you’re having a great day. Today I bring you my TBR of the month of November, where I tell you about the readings that I’ve planned for this month. Can you believe that it’s November!? OMG, the year has gone by so quickly, and I’ve just begun to wonder if if I’ll be able to reach my reading goal of 70 books this year, I’ve 59 books read so I think that although it’s totally possible, it will be difficult, even so, I’ll try!. I’m not too obsessed with the amount of books I read during the year, in fact I think I’ve discovered such an incredible books and I’ve had so much fun with my blog that I’m really fine even if I don’t achieve it. So, going back to our main theme, I plan a November with mixed genres very different from each other, and it’s very exciting for me, I think a varied month is exactly what I need, I plan to read 5 books, I have fantasy, contemporary, mystery, drama and I’ve some interesting ARCs too, so without further ado let’s start!



NetGalley ARCs

The Temptation of Adam by Dave Connis

34138283Adam Hawthorne is fine.

Yeah, his mother left, his older sister went with her, and his dad would rather read Nicholas Sparks novels than talk to him. And yeah, he spends his nights watching self-curated porn video playlists.

But Adam is fine.

When a family friend discovers Adam’s porn addiction, he’s forced to join an addiction support group: the self-proclaimed Knights of Vice. He goes because he has to, but the honesty of the Knights starts to slip past his defenses. Combine that with his sister’s out-of-the-blue return and the attention of a girl he meets in an AA meeting, and all the work Adam has put into being fine begins to unravel.

Now Adam has to face the causes and effects of his addiction, before he loses his new friends, his prodigal sister, and his almost semi-sort-of girlfriend. 

Goodreads

This book follows Adam’s story, who has a porn addiction , which I’ve found undoubtedly as a curious and strange kind of thing to find in a book, I also think it can be a very interesting reading if it’s touched in a right way. I’ve already started reading this book, I’m going about halfway through it, and I’m still not sure about my feelings about, I like the theme it touches, since we can see other types of addictions here as well, but the characters are flat, so I hope it will improve in that aspect


Fragments of the Lost by Megan Miranda

27797316From the New York Times bestselling author of All the Missing Girls and The Perfect Stranger comes a suspenseful psychological mystery about one girl’s search to uncover the truth behind her ex-boyfriend’s death. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars and 13 Reasons Why . 

Jessa Whitworth knew she didn’t belong in her ex-boyfriend Caleb’s room. But she couldn’t deny that she was everywhere–in his photos, his neatly folded T-shirts, even the butterfly necklace in his jeans pocket . . . the one she gave him for safe keeping on that day.

His mother asked her to pack up his things–even though she blames Jessa for his accident. How could she say no? And maybe, just maybe, it will help her work through the guilt she feels about their final moments together.

But as Jessa begins to box up the pieces of Caleb’s life, they trigger memories that make Jessa realize their past relationship may not be exactly as she remembered. And she starts to question whether she really knew Caleb at all. 

Each fragment of his life reveals a new clue that propels Jessa to search for the truth about Caleb’s accident. What really happened on the storm-swept bridge? 

Goodreads

I’ve already started with this one too, it wasn’t really the plan but I started reading the first pages and then I couldn’t put it down, it’s really good so far. I love the writing style he has and I also enjoy thesuspense vibe and the secrets that the plot hides, it’s really entertaining and I can’t wait to continue with it


Layover by Amy Andelson, Emily Meyer

32994106FLYNN: At first we were almost strangers. But ever since I moved to New York, Amos was the one person I could count on. And together we were there for Poppy. (I mean, what kind of parents leave their kid to be raised by a nanny?) I just didn’t expect to fall for him—and I never expected him to leave us.

AMOS: I thought I was the only one who felt it. I told myself it was because we were spending so much time together—taking care of Poppy and all. But that night, I could tell she felt it, too. And I freaked out—you’re not supposed to fall for your stepsister. So I ran away to boarding school. I should have told her why I was leaving, but every time I tried, it felt like a lie.

One missed flight was about to change their lives forever….

Goodreads

Being honest I haven’t heard very good things about this book, but still it doesn’t stop calling my attention. At first I confess that what caught me was its cover, because it’s really beautiful, but then I see the plot and read “you’re not supposed to fall for your stepsister” and it was like OMG this can be a disaster or in fact, it can be a great drama, so I’m really curious to discover it



Jar TBR

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi 

25203675Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself. 

Goodreads

I’m so excited about this book. First, it’s beautiful. Second, like all the books in my Jar TBR, it’s been there forever, so it really makes me happy to finally read it. The plot sounds amazing, with the whole theme of the curse and the “tree that bears memories instead of fruit”, I mean WHAT !, it sounds wonderful and I can’t wait to start and get into the Akaran kingdom


Last but not Least…

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

35216509When Mateo receives the dreaded call from Death-Cast, informing him that today will be his last, he doesn’t know where to begin. Quiet and shy, Mateo is devastated at the thought of leaving behind his hospitalised father, and his best friend and her baby girl. But he knows that he has to make the most of this day, it’s his last chance to get out there and make an impression. 

Rufus is busy beating up his ex-girlfriend’s new boyfriend when he gets the call. Having lost his entire family, Rufus is no stranger to Death-Cast. Not that it makes it any easier. With bridges to mend, the police searching for him and the angry new boyfriend on his tail, it’s time to run. 

Isolated and scared, the boys reach out to each other, and what follows is a day of living life to the full. Though neither of them had expected that this would involve falling in love… 

Another beautiful, heartbreaking and life-affirming book from the brilliant Adam Silvera, author of More Happy Than Not and History Is All You Left Me. 

Goodreads

I’ve wanted to read this for months,as you have noticed since I was included in almost all my TBRs, and for some reason I haven’t pick it up yet, which is really a shame because I want to read it so much. The concept of the book sounds incredible, I’m very excited to finally read it, I really liked the writing style in History Is All You Left Me and although I know that this is completely different I think it would be super interesting to read Adam doing something so original and different , with all the paranormal aspects, I can’t wait!



Which books do you plan to read this month?

Feel free to leave your comment below, I always love to know what you think🙂

You can also find me at Goodreads and Twitter ❤

Advertisements

29 thoughts on “November TBR [2017]

  1. I really wanted Fragments of the Lost but never heard back on my request for that one, I’m guessing it will be really good though since I’ve loved a couple of her other books. On the other hand I have read The Star-Touched Queen and I hope you like it a lot more than I did, definitely was not one of my favorites unfortunately.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been wanting to read The Star-Touched Queen for a while now but it’s not on my priority list at the moment because my TBR is so large, it’s currently at about 70 books.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a list! I have snagged a couple of these for my TBR. Maybe I missed it in your post (I am new here) – you have a TBR jar? That is such a good idea! I need one of those…along with a higher bookshelf the little hands can’t reach lol! New follower 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good luck with your November TBR. On my reading list for this month is: Bonfire by Krysten Ritter, The City of Brass by S.A. Chakraborty, and The Girl in the Tower by Katherine Arden. But my main focus is writing a novel for NaNoWriMo.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s