Book Review: When I Cast Your Shadow by Sarah Porter

33414246Title: When I Cast Your Shadow

By: Sarah Porter

Published: September 12th 2017

By: Tor Teen

Genre: YA-Paranormal-ARC-Dark

A teenage girl calls her beloved older brother back from the grave with disastrous consequences.

Dashiell Bohnacker was hell on his family while he was alive. But it’s even worse now that he’s dead….

After her troubled older brother, Dashiell, dies of an overdose, sixteen-year-old Ruby is overcome by grief and longing. What she doesn’t know is that Dashiell’s ghost is using her nightly dreams of him as a way to possess her body and to persuade her twin brother, Everett, to submit to possession as well.

Dashiell tells Everett that he’s returned from the Land of the Dead to tie up loose ends, but he’s actually on the run from forces crueler and more powerful than anything the Bohnacker twins have ever imagined…. 

Goodreads



Copia de SPRINGTIME (5)

I want to thank NetGalley and Tor Teen for providing me with this copy in exchange for an honest review 

This is the kind of book you love or hate, and although I really wanted to like it, it wasn’t like that. I ended up struggling to finish it, and although it has moments in which I thought it would improve, I really think it was bored and problematic

description

The story follows the Bohnacker family after the death of the oldest son, Dashiell. One of his sisters Ruby misses him so much that she begins to dream about him, but what begins as an innocent dreams due to a great and difficult loss, becomes something more and Ruby begins to be possessed by the spirit of his late brother, at this way he tries to return to finish his unfinished busines, but after a while his other brother Everett, after talking with Dash through Ruby realizes that the objectives of his brother are much darker than they imagined 

I know that sounds incredible and in fact, the idea is great, but I feel that it hasn’t been well executed, I can see the concept and I get it, but it hasn’t worked for me

I had many difficulties with the characters, I feel that everyone has something that makes me feel uncomfortable or just doesn’t make me understand their actions or their thoughts. Ruby is extremely naive and somewhat silly at times, I don’t think she adds much to the story to be honest. We have Dash, he’s nasty and his “purposes” weren’t enough to convince me otherwise, I couldn’t stand his presence and lastly we have Everett who was the character that I liked the most, but unfortunately his POVs are focused on his sister, so I feel that I haven’t been able to get to know him more deeply, at least he’s the least psychopath in the family.

description

I feel that the way in which the characters react to the paranormal facts is too fake, it’s like they experience that kind of thing every day or something, it hasn’t felt real for me

It’s supposed to be the story of a family that goes through a great loss and we’re also supposed to see how they deal with that, which I found deep , interesting and I thought that could give the book a very good complement. That never happened, I didn’t find a well-assembled family but I found very different individuals from each other living under the same roof. As they relate to each other is so weird and has made me feel chills, in fact, there’s something very incestuous happening here, which has made me feel really uncomfortable. 
The father of these guys is so creepy, and maybe it’s the idea, but even so, that didn’t work for me, I think if there was something that had to be solid in a plot like this was the family unit but I didn’t find that

description

Leaving the negative asidethe idea itself and the paranormal fact it’s good, I feel that the author had a brilliant idea but I couldn’t say that it was well executed. Even so, if I finished the book, miraculously, it was thanks to the author’s writing style, although it is not of my favorites, it is quite fluid

Finally, I think that when situations are happening there has to be a justification for them. Things happen all the time in this book, without explanation. I need to know why or what has led them to make those decisions, but I still don’t know

description

In short, if I would have to describe this book in one word it will be uncomfortable or strange. It’s a shame that I didn’t like it, I thought I would find a great mystery book with a paranormal touch, I thought it would be worth it, because I’ve heard great things about the author but maybe it just not for me, so being honest, I would not recommend it, except that you’re looking for a book with a very disturbing family dynamics or something like that. 

PS: I want to clarify that as always, the idea is not to offend those who have enjoyed the book (in fact it makes me very happy if you liked it), but it’s just to express my opinion as honestly as possible, with respect guys, thanks for reading



Rating

1/5 Stars



Feel free to leave your comment below, I always love to know what you think🙂

find me at

Goodreads | Twitter ❤

13 thoughts on “Book Review: When I Cast Your Shadow by Sarah Porter

  1. Oh, man, I totally agree with you on everything! I read it not long ago and HATED it! It was incredibly problematic and the characters and their relationship was super toxic. I struggled a lot to continue because I just didn’t care for any of them😪.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: the end of the year book tag – coffeeloving bookoholic

  3. Pingback: September Wrap Up [2017] | A Book. A Thought.

Leave a Reply

