Book Review: Black Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel

33509076Title: Black Bird of the Gallows

By: Meg Kassel

Published: September 5th 2017

By: Entangled Publishing

Genre: YA-Paranormal-Contemporary-Fantasy-Romance-ARC

A simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear, the morgues will soon be full.

Angie Dovage can tell there’s more to Reece Fernandez than just the tall, brooding athlete who has her classmates swooning, but she can’t imagine his presence signals a tragedy that will devastate her small town. When something supernatural tries to attack her, Angie is thrown into a battle between good and evil she never saw coming. Right in the center of it is Reece—and he’s not human.

What’s more, she knows something most don’t. That the secrets her town holds could kill them all. But that’s only half as dangerous as falling in love with a harbinger of death. 

Goodreads



Copia de SPRINGTIME (5)


Oh NO, it really finished guys 😦 !, that makes me so sad, I feel I need more of this world and its characters, read this book it was all an experience, I underestimated it and it really surprised me

description

I want to thank NetGalley and Entangled Publishing,LLC for providing me with this copy in exchange for an honest review 

Black Bird of the Gallows is the typical paranormal story that follows the typical character of the innocent beautifull girl, and the handsome and miterious guy. I feel that it has many similarities to Twilight, the Lux saga or even to Hush Hush, and even when I’ve enjoyed of most of those series, that was a long time ago, so nowadays to find a book that reminds me of the typical Ya Paranormal story, it was something that scared me a little bit. Being honest, I thought, since the beginning, that I wouldn’t like it and took me completely by surprise, I didn’t just started to enjoying it once I got more into it but in the end I feel that I need more of this fabulous paranormal plot. I don’t know if there will be more books, because although it works well as stand-alone it would really be incredible to have at least a duology. Yes guys, I liked it that much lol

description

The paranormal aspects are very original, the author’s idea to use animals like bees and crows, and put all this legend around them and make the whole thing something dark and cursed is great, never heard nothing like it before.At first I wasn’t sure if it worked, I found the whole thing a little bit weird, but ended up working and being something unique. I also liked that the whole plot takes place in a small town where appearances deceive and everything has an mystery aura, that has been great, it gives a touch of tv serie, something like The Vampire Diaries or Supernatual. In fact I think if you enjoy some of those shows you like the book too

There is nothing really amazing about the characters, they are quite normal and typical in this type of story,. at one point I thought it would exist a kind of love triangle and I was really worried about that, but it ended up being the opposite and didn’t fall into that topic, which sometimes bothers us so much, was a good thing

What I want to highlight and what I most enjoy was the Meg Kassel writing style, is incredible, super cool and easy to read, I also sincerely think that you could read this book easily in one day, it’s so addictive and fast-paced, I sadly didn’t have the chance to finish it so fast because life lol, but I would have liked to do it if I could. Once you start with it is very difficult to put it down.I’m 100% sure that I’ll read anything by this author in the future. I highly recommend this book if you’re in the middle of some reading challenge, it’s perfect for such occasions.

description

I feel that at one point there was a lot of action going on and I was terrified by the result and then PUM!, the book ended, and here I am, still with a million questions. So I don’t know how to feel about the end, I think it was rushed. Easily I could have devoured 100 pages more of this story without getting tired and maybe I would have more answers to my questions or at least to know more about what happened with the secondary characters, that is why I hope there is a continuation. And although the book, as I said, ends quite well, I feel that it is not one of my favorite endings and it’s from those books that you stay waiting for more.

I highly recommend it if you want a funny paranormal reading, you’ll read it very fast and you’ll surely enjoy the writing style that is cool and it’s not heavy at all. I also want to add that if you don’t mind the typical Paranormal YA topics then surely you’ll enjoy it, it’s a fresh and entertaining reading, GO FOR IT! 



Rating

4/5 Stars



Feel free to leave your comment below, I always love to know what you think🙂

find me at

Goodreads | Twitter ❤

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Black Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel

  1. Pingback: Fast-Paced Contemporary Books Recs | A Book. A Thought.

  2. Pingback: September Wrap Up [2017] | A Book. A Thought.

Leave a Reply

