Book Review: Odd & True by Cat Winters

28078791Title: Odd & True

By: Cat Winters

Publication: September 12th 2017

By: Amulet Books

Genre: Historical Fiction-Fantasy-YA-Paranormal

Trudchen grew up hearing Odette’s stories of their monster-slaying mother and a magician’s curse. But now that Tru’s older, she’s starting to wonder if her older sister’s tales were just comforting lies, especially because there’s nothing fantastic about her own life—permanently disabled and in constant pain from childhood polio.

In 1909, after a two-year absence, Od reappears with a suitcase supposedly full of weapons and a promise to rescue Tru from the monsters on their way to attack her. But it’s Od who seems haunted by something. And when the sisters’ search for their mother leads them to a face-off with the Leeds Devil, a nightmarish beast that’s wreaking havoc in the Mid-Atlantic states, Tru discovers the peculiar possibility that she and her sister—despite their dark pasts and ordinary appearances—might, indeed, have magic after all.

Goodreads



Copia de SPRINGTIME (5)

This is a fantastic reading, full of magic, that contains one of the most beautiful sisterhood ties I’ve read about.-look that cover. BEAUTIFUL!

description

I want to thank NetGalley and ABRAMS Kids for providing me with this copy in exchange for an honest review

I thought it would take me longer to read this book, since when you first start with it may seem a bit heavy or slow-paced, but I quickly overcame it and I found myself flying through it, which makes me want to read something more about the author like right now!

The story follows Od and his sister Tru. Od is always telling Tru wonderful and fantastic stories about monsters and magical creatures and how they are destined to hunt down these creatures, just as their mother did. Until one day Od disappears and Tru is alone trying to figure out how much is true in the stories that his sister has told her since childhood. 

I love the way the title plays with the names of the characters is very original and accurate. The story is told between leaps from the present to the past, the past with the POV of Od, where we know more about her childhood and the years she has spent away from her sister and the Tru’s present POV, who is trying to hunt a demon which she thinks is prowling around the city.
Both views make the story really catchy and exciting, but it also touches deeper topics such as family and loyalty

description

I’ve enjoyed meeting these girls, they are both strong and smart but at the same time they have completely different personalities and experiences which makes the book super interesting and gives us different perspectives about the things that are happening. I feel that there is a spooky touch in the book too and I’ve enjoyed that aspect a lot, especially related to the monsters and how some places are described is really good

I felt a little more drawn to the Od’s point of view, I personally found it much more interesting than Tru’s, but perhaps it’s because I was much more interested in knowing about the past, and It’s told in such a wonderful way, that mystery vibe that possesses has totally caught me, also I feel that I have bored a little with the Tru story , but this is only my opinion and in the end I feel that both stories and how they connect are great

I want to warn you that if you’re looking for a book of kick-ass girls fighting non-stop monsters, may not be the book for you, I feel that although it has moments of action and are great, it’s based much more on the aspect of mystery, the union of sisters and what family means. Which I’ve found great but I recognize that isn’t what the book sells from the beginning so I was taken by surprise

description

One of my favorite things about the book was the writing style, it’s my first Cat Winters book but I know it will not be the last one, her writing caught me and has a style so unique and poetic that I think is ideal for this type of genre,especially for Historical Fiction. I feel that the clever way that Winters plays with what’s real and what’s fantasy makes this book unique and makes it very different from the other books that can touch this type of subjects

So, of course I recommend it, I’ve enjoyed it a lot, especially if you’re looking for some historical with fantasy and great ties of sisterhood, you’ll love this, plus: The writing style has something definitely unique 



Rating

4/5 Stars



Feel free to leave your comment below, I always love to know what you think🙂

find me at

Goodreads | Twitter ❤

11 thoughts on “Book Review: Odd & True by Cat Winters

  1. Awesome! loved your review, I have a physical arc of this one and plan on getting to it soon. i originally was pulled in by its promise of sibling relationship & I am glad to see that this was the focal point. We don’t often see positive sibling relationships in YA & this is a pleasant surprise in YA Fantasy. This will alos be my 1st Cat Winters book so also very excited 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you Reading? | A Book. A Thought.

Leave a Reply

