Book Review: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

21414439Title: Truthwitch

By: Susan Dennard

Published : January 5th 2016

By: Tor Teen

Genre: YA-Fantasy-Paranormal-Magic

In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

Goodreads



Copia de SPRINGTIME (5)

Okay, I think this will be an unpopular opinion. This book has so much hype that I really thought I would love it, that’s always a problem for me since I don’t always like books that others love, in half I thought I was hooking myself but then I started to get bored a lot, I struggle to finish it and my brain hurts so we talk about it 

description

It’s so difficult to choose where to start talking, I’ll try to be as brief and orderly as possible to be clear, I really wanted to like this book , REALLY, I’ve seen many incredible reviews about it, in fact in Goodreads is full of them, which is why I believe that I’m the only person who has had problems with it and that makes me feel super bad!

I want to be clear before continuing: My review is not meant to offend anyone neither those who love the book or her author. 

My first impression was OMG there are so many difficult names and definitions here, but it’s normal in this type of fantasy book, so I thought there would come a point where I wouldn’t bother about, that point never came guys, I was trying to remember every kind of witch and every name of world places and characters, was very difficult

description

I would say that my main problem was that I was VERY CONFUSED, I don’t think this is well explained, I think the author treats this book as if it were a sequel where the reader should already know everything about the world and everything about the magic system, because I didn’t see anything well explained here. The story talks about a war that is to come and how inevitable this is, but I need to know more, I mean,Why war is inevitable?, What’s the reason for ? , I can’t just figuret out something for myself, I just needed more information to feel really absorbed into this world, the plot and understand a little more of the actions of the characters

I think that the world building is very poor, and again, I need more information!. We have a beautiful map ahead and that’s great, but what else? , I need to know what kind of world they live on, their beliefs, customs, descriptions of landscapes, anything!. Also I was waiting for her to explain which races were friends of which ones and which ones enemys and why. Iseult also comes from a kind of tribe, which I think it’s really interesting but I don’t know why everyone hates her, OMG so many questions

description

Everything that has to do with the types of witches and their specialties was very interesting, even though I didn’t think it was well explained, we have a lot of incredible races but I don’t know exactly where they come from, how do they originate ?, if they’re all witches or some people aren’t. I was with a lot of names as Trhuthwitch or Bloodwitch and more and thought “That is so great” but at the same time I can’t know everything just with a name, I mean, I can’t guess what each one does, what their abilities are or what their weaknesses

One of the main reasons why I wanted to read this book was because of the number of people who had told me about the great relationship of friendship between the main characters and well the thing is, when the girls were separated and could see how they needed at each other, that was really cute, I liked it, but there are moments that I don’t understand that binds them besides being Threadsisters, what I understand here is that being Thredsisters unites them as sisters, right? But what makes them really friends? When they’re together I don’t see the strong connection that everyone talks about and the characters only highlight the importance of being together when they’re separated so I don’t know, it wasn’t convincing for me

description

I think that the reason why I finished the book was Aeudon, I really liked this character and if there will be a whole book about him, I would read it, I think the chapters where he was the protagonist were very interesting, is a dark character and being the villain was very interesting to read and be inside his mind and know his thoughts

The plot is basically about Safiya (whom I couldn’t stand) and how they all try to capture her because I think she’s the last Truthwitch so together with Iseult they escape and fight and escape (again) to avoid being captured, meanwhile we know other characters but there really isn’t that much more and if there would be a solid explanation about the magic system or the construction of the world I wouldn’t have minded, but it was simply very boring for me. And I think that feeling bored is the worst thing for a reader

description

I think that I would try something more of the author because I really want to give it another chance, I feel that if so many people love her work, it should be for something so I will not surrender, only this book wasn’t made for me and I don’t think I’m interested in continuing the saga 



Rating

2/5 Stars



Feel free to leave your comment below, I always love to know what you think🙂

find me at

Goodreads | Twitter ❤

44 thoughts on “Book Review: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

  1. Good review. I enjoyed this book although I can definitely relate to you about the confusion. I listened to the Audio version to begin with and the narrator was pretty rough so I ended up finishing it in hardcover. Windwitch is so so much better and explains so much more. It is also from a few different points of view and so you learn more about the world and the characters. Aeduan is also in it A-LOT! Plus book three is Bloodwitch…so you know whose POV that one will be! Anyway, I hope you’ll give Windwitch a try but I understand if you don’t want to. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I made it to page 56, or something, and stopped reading. I honestly don’t know if I’ll ever pick it back up. You’re not alone. I felt very confused and out of place in the brief bit I did read. I also thought the writing wasn’t planned beey well and felt sort of scrambled about.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I rather enjoyed the book, but perhaps I understood it more because I get Susan Dennard’s newsletter and so I got to read about her writing process with the book and the worldbuilding and the types of witcheries and such. Plus, she released a video where she pronounced all the main characters’ names, which was really helpful.

    But I completely understand all of your points. As a huge fantasy fan myself, I wanted a bit more about the development of the world and the conflict and the witcheries. I feel like this is explored a bit more in the sequel, Windwitch (which yes, does feature more Aeduan so there’s that).

    I have only read Something Strange and Deadly, the first of her debut trilogy, and I enjoyed it despite the fact that I’m not normally someone who likes books or anything with zombies, so maybe that is something you might enjoy more.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for understanding and for the recommendation❤, I absolutely wanna try Something Strange and Deadly, sounds really good !, plus I want to give another opportunity to her writing style😊. It’s so good that you’ve had the opportunity to read about her writing process, sure it was a lot of help!. I hope you have a great day😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • And the really cool part is that with Something Strange and Deadly, they just rereleased them with new covers and I love the redesign. I definitely need to get physical copies of the whole trilogy so I can stare at them. Have a great day, Sofii.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I feel you, I tried reading this one a while ago but I just couldn’t understand anything that was happening, nor how the magic worked. I didn’t read much, but since I was so lost I decided to put it down. I’ve also heard amazing things about this, so maybe I’ll give it another shot in the future, but my thoughts on it were pretty much similar to yours lol 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I haven’t read this one yet but just looking at the names of the characters in this post gave me a headache haha! I actually have seen other reviews with the same opinion as yours so believe me you are not alone in your opinion. This is a great review and I love reading unpopular opinions 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s so good to know that !, It’s hard to write this type of review because I really don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings, you know? It just hasn’t worked for me. I really hope you enjoy it if you read it, let me know! And thanks for comment honey ❤❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I have to be honest … I was pretty confused reading this book too … I had a much better time with Windwitch … MUCH BETTER TIME

    Although in truth I still don’t know exactly what the ever loving f is actually going on … ?

    I enjoyed the individual storylines in Windwitch (Truthwitch too but less so) but I’m still confused by the bigger story/plot here because like you said … there is not enough explanation and foundation.

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know! I also DNF books for that reason, although I tried to finish this one, so I can give you a more honest and complete opinion about, even so if you want to try it sometime I hope you enjoy it, many people love it so it’s possible that you too. Have a beautiful day! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Great review!
    I recently just finished reading book 1 of Susan Dennard’s other series “Something Strange and Deadly.” I was unimpressed with it. Like it was okay, but not great. I was debating picking this one up, but I may pass on it now that I’ve seen your review. I really dislike it when fantasy novels don’t explain things enough. It makes it hard to connect to the characters if you can’t understand their world. I feel like sometimes YA authors try too hard to make their world seem complex and deep by thrusting the reader into a setting full of confusing words and names just for the sake of seeming very “high fantasy’, which is immensely frustrating!
    Again, very well written and awesome review!
    -Lo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh that’s exactly what I think, sometimes letting it simpler is a lot better, right? I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy her other book as much as you’ve hope so, maybe I’ll try that one sometime because I want to give to the writer another chance. Thanks for your comment, honey, I hope that if you ever try this one , work for you 😊❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • I agree with you that sometimes a simpler world is better as it may be easier for the reader to envision it and immerse themselves in it! And I actually own “Truthwitch” so I may give it a chance, because like you said, I want to give the author another chance! If you do read “Something Strange and Deadly”, I will definitely look forward to your review and hearing what you think of it!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I pretty much had the exact same thoughts about this book. It was sadly not as good as I thought it’d be and I really needed a glossary to keep track of everything.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Bummer that this didn’t work out for you! You’re not the first I’ve read a mixed review about this series from though. I’ve owned this book since like January and keep putting it off haha. Maybe one day I’ll muster up the willpower to carve my way through it and see what I make of it too.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: The Alphabet Book Tag! (A-M) – Dreamy Addictions

  11. Pingback: July Wrap Up [2017] | A Book. A Thought.

  12. Pingback: Dennard, Susan; Truthwitch (Witchlands I); London, Tor, 2016 | humanitysdarkerside

Leave a Reply

