Book Review: Roses of May by Dot Hutchison

30109999Title: Roses of May (The Collector #2)

By: Dot Hutchison

Published: May 23rd 2017

By: Thomas & Mercer

Genre: Mystery-Thriller-Dark-Contemporary-Adult

May contain spoilers from the previous book

Four months after the explosion at the Garden, a place where young women known as the Butterflies were kept captive, FBI agents Brandon Eddison, Victor Hanoverian, and Mercedes Ramirez are still entrenched in the aftermath, helping survivors in the process of adjusting to life on the outside. With winter coming to an end, the Butterflies have longer, warmer days of healing ahead. But for the agents, the impending thaw means one gruesome thing: a chilling guarantee that somewhere in the country, another young woman will turn up dead in a church with her throat slit and her body surrounded by flowers.

Priya Sravasti’s sister fell victim to the killer years ago. Now she and her mother move every few months, hoping for a new beginning. But when she ends up in the madman’s crosshairs, the hunt takes on new urgency. Only with Priya’s help can the killer be found—but will her desperate hope for closure compel her to put her very life on the line?

Goodreads



A Book A Thought (2)

I want to thank Thomas & Mercer and NetGalley for providing me with this copy in exchange for an honest review

I’ve read The Butterfly Garden last year and since then it has been on my favorites list, it’s an exceptional and creepy book that will leave you in shock and with a lot of mixed feelings, it’s one of those crimes and mysteries books that is much more than just that, will keep you on the edge of your seat without doubts, but this isn’t its review but it’s the Roses of May review, which is the second book of what I believe will be a trilogy, anyway wanted to clarify how much I’ve loved and I still love the first book as this was what I was encouraged to read this second one.

I can say that since I found out that there was a second part, long before there was even a cover for it, I was dying to read this book, and now that I had the chance, I was looking for the same experience I had with TBG, I wanted feel all those emotions that I had felt before, I wanted it to be amazing, unique and above all I expected that dark touch that the writer so well knew how to give.

Finally I can say that the experience with this book has been very different from what I expected, it has been a book written in a way that catches you and you can not stop reading, and that is great, I’ve loved that, But I still have something missing, I think my expectations were high and somehow that has influenced, it was entertaining and mysterious,but today I can say with certainty that I think both books work well, but not as part of the same series, but rather as books completely independent, like stand-alones . This is , of course, from my point of view, because although I know that both books are connected due to the appearance of some characters, really doesn’t continue to the first one, nor focuses on our butterflies, but that focuses on the FBI detectives who are now behind another serial killer of young girls, and although it has been super interesting, I couldn’t connect with any character deeply and that made me think that I was reading a completely diferent book from what I intended to read.

description
Summing up didn’t live up to my expectations but it’s still a great book and it holds up well by itself

The plot is very interesting, the murders and the narration have made me feel chills and that has been my favorite things of the book.

I understood that I was beginning to feel weird for me when I expected things to happen and that stuff never happened, lol. It sounds like a complete madness but reading the first book you know you can expect anything, and I was like “Where’s my creepy twist in the plot?”, I haven’t had my dose of adrenaline and emotion here, I would have liked to be surprised but I will not fail to recommend it, Dot’s writing style is one of the most incredible I’ve ever seen, and I’m sure I’ll continue to follow her future works



Rating

3 / 5 Stars



Feel free to leave your comment below, I always love to know what you think🙂

find me at

Goodreads | Twitter ❤

One thought on “Book Review: Roses of May by Dot Hutchison

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you Reading? | A Book. A Thought.

Leave a Reply

