Book Review: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

17399160Title: Snow Like Ashes

By:  Sara Raasch

Published: October 14th 2014

By: Balzer + Bray

Genre: YA-Fantasy-Romance

A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making.

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

Goodreads



A Book A Thought (2)

“Even the strongest blizzards start with a single snowflake.”

description

Wow, this book is actually very good !, I loved it, I really enjoyed it, especially its great world building, is one of the best I’ve read

The story follows Meira she’s our main character, and who is going to tell us the plot from her point of view, she’s a Winterian and since it’s only a baby has lived with a group of survivors of her people of the Winter kingdom which was overthrown by the evil Angra of the Spring kingdom, which still seeks to finish with them or enslave them, so their small group has to be in constant motiont to avoid being trapped. The main plan and what keeps the Winterians in hopes is to recover their ancient locket , which is a kind of magical object that was used by their queen and thus defeat Angra, save their people and regain their kingdom

I want to start by talking about the world in which the plot unfolds,because it’s one of the most beautiful worlds I’ve read, it’s divided into 4 Seasons and 4 Rythms and it’s fantastic, I thought the original idea of dividing the stations, converting them In realms is great, this made the descriptions of these places were beautiful, I also find great the fact that the Spring Kingdom is like the “villains” of the story when in reality when you think of spring as a season, with its flowers And warm weather doesn’t seem a very threatening thing, I mean, no one believes that spring can be a bad thing, so I found that fascinating and super interesting, I love the idea of Winter as the main kingdom, its people have those beautiful white hair and blue eyes and I imagine them on the snowy and cold landscape and I find it beautiful for a fantasy world

description

“That’s why literature is so fascinating. It’s always up for interpretation, and could be a hundred different things to a hundred different people. It’s never the same thing twice.”

We have great variety of characters here, each of them are their role maybe “cliché” in YA, even so enjoy them and this didn’t stop me from loving them

Meira is the main character, she’s an orphan and has been raised by Sir, who is like her father, but above all is her coach and mentor. She’s very strong, I like that about her, she’s persistent and doesn’t give up easily, all the time she has shown interest in wanting to be a soldier to help in the liberation of her people, a people that only knows through stories that Sir and the other Winters has told her, since she was very small when the war happened. She’s determined to prove that she’s valuable and that she belongs to her people as well as to all the others. She knows how to fight and defend herself and although at times she was a bit immature and complaining, I can understand why, besides she’s only 16 and everything that she has to go through is pretty hard. As we take advantage of the plot we know more about her story and many things are revealed so she will be much more responsible than ever, carrying a lot on her shoulders, and I think she has done it well, has grown up and finaly I really liked her character, although she has a long way to go yet.

“Someday we will be more than words in the dark.”

Mather is Meira’s best friend and the Winter’s heir , this character is with whom Meira has a romantic interest, but the truth is that I didn’t feel it that way, I like more her relationship of brotherhood and friendship with him, I feel the romantic moments so uncomfortable and I don’t manage to connect with that aspect, although Mather on his own is a great character, I feel I need to know more about him to give my full opinion although it’s okay, there were times where I felt confused with his behavior, it’s very inexpressive so I don’t know, I know he will be there for Meira always and also fight for his people so I can’t wait for that.

Sir is the guys’s mentor , who has raised them since they were very young and who keeps them safe and tells them the story about Winter. This character is great, I love how strong and rude he proves to be, but deep down it’s very obvious how much he loves Meira and Mather, he has made me suffer, He’s a very wise man and is part of moments you can’t miss in the book,Ie enjoyed much to see how his mind works, and how he has only put himself in command of such tough situations, having to choose the best for others although this makes him suffer, is a great leader and a great human being, I hope the writer doesn’t snatch this character from me because I will be very angry

Let’s talk about Theron, guys, this character won my heart, I love him, he’s the son of the Governor of Cordell, but while his father is a hard man, cold and selfish, he’s quite the opposite, he’s artistic and charming, in addition always have the right words to say, he’s brave and bright, ok I have to stop now lol. Since he meeting with Meira I can’t stop shipping this relationship and I know it probably will not happen as I want to but I refuse to give up

description

“Fear is a seed that, once planted, never stops growing.”

There is a feeling in this book of mistrust between characters, which in fact made me mistrust everyone , that kept me alert, I think it’s a fun touch that gets you hooked with the plot, and is that the plot twists were great, there are several things that may seem predictable, yet I find them as very good decisions made by the author, I’ve surprised, I’ve laughed, I almost died! my feelings!, I go through many stages with it

There is something that has made me feel confused and it’s the magic system that arises, the whole thing and how some magic can be only handled by women, I’m ok about that, but then it start talking about it in a way which I found super confused, about the abyss, on the ducts having almost own conscience and alot of things, I still don’t get to understand it completly , I think that the author could have been clearer with fewer words and leave it in a summarized way, because it has complicated a little bit, to be honest I feel that the author had many ideas for this in her head and simply wrote them all, I don’t want to be rude or anything but I think sometimes simple is better.

description

The end was great I enjoyed it a lot, the revelations gave way to great things and I’ve been wanting more, so surely continue with this trilogy, I want to know more about Winter and its culture, and also hope to see more about the other realms, really I’ve fallen in love with the construction of this world, plus: The map is fantastic



Rating

4.5 / 5 Stars



Feel free to leave your comment below, I always love to know what you think🙂

find me at

Goodreads | Twitter ❤

19 thoughts on “Book Review: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

  1. Great review and glad you enjoyed it! The story keeps getting better in the other two books.
    If I may clarify what you were confused about: Each kingdom has a conduit. The rulers with conduits are the source of magic for their land and people. People can’t wield magic themselves. There is rumor of a chasm that holds the source of all magic but the entrance to that has been lost for centuries. I hope that makes sense; I didn’t want to say too much since you’ve only read the first book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesday [#8] | A Book. A Thought.

  3. I’m so glad that you liked this, and even more glade that you liked Theron. He was my favorite character, I’m absolutely loved him and this world.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: May Wrap Up [2017] | A Book. A Thought.

  5. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you Reading? | A Book. A Thought.

Leave a Reply

