Standalone Sunday #5

copia-de-copia-de-copia-de-lamington-2

Hello everyone! I hope everyone is having an incredible weekend!
Today I bring you a Standalone Sunday that is a feature created by Megan @bookslayerReads, where we will feature a standalone book (not part of a series) that you loved or would recommend 🙂


I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

20820994A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Goodreads


Oh guys this book is so amazing, magical and easy to read!
It was the first book I’ve added without hesitation to my list of favorites this year
I didn’t expect to fall in love with this reading as I did, once I started with it, it was so difficult for me to put it down, I would have read it in one sitting without thinking if I had had the time
We follow the story of Jude and her twin brother Noah, and the interesting thing about this story is how different these characters are from each other, this gives a lot of diversity and different perspectives of situations, which is great.
I love the way it’s written jumping between past chapters and present chapters, where we can see clearly how life is changing for them, as their personalities are totally different in the present and this is due to a lot of situations that happen during the book.
It’s a story of discovery, struggle, overcoming, these boys really are so lost and we see how they both get to touch the bottom and struggle to get up every time, but especially what I think the writer wanted to point out was the importance of family and the love beetween brothers, and how this love can in the end against all adversities
This book makes you think. Who are you ?, What do you want for your life? , What is important for you? What would you do for love? It’s so deep.
It made me laugh, cry and fall in love, and now I would love for all of you to be encouraged to read it, so that you can feel all these things for yourselves



Let me know in the comments, I always love to know what you think.

You can also find me at Goodreads and Twitter ❤

Advertisements

17 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday #5

  1. I LOVE this book! I’ll Give You the Sun is my favorite contemporary. I also love the way the book is written and the emphasis Jandy Nelson puts on family. I loved your review! You summed up all my emotions when I first read this book.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The NEW Disney Princess Book Tag – TwinBookmarks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s