Book Review: Ashes to Ashes by Valerie Thomas

34443083Title: Ashes to Ashes

By: Valerie Thomas

Published: March 1st 2017

By: Ebbing Neptune Publishing

Genre: Mystery-YA-Contemporary-Romance

From tragedy came power. And from mishandled power came mystery.

After moving into a new gated community with her family, Natalie is ready to begin a peaceful year at Emerson High. A year complete with boy troubles, school dances, new friends… everything an average girl could expect.

Then she starts receiving notes warning her not to go to school November first. Notes in her day planner, on a piece of homework, on a homecoming ticket… The more notes she receives the more details she uncovers, and the clearer it becomes: words like peaceful and average are about the worst ones anyone could use to describe the year she’s about to have. Crazy? Maybe. Violent? Definitely. Heart-wrenching, mind-blowing, life-changing?

Well, that remains to be seen. All Natalie knows from the start is that she shouldn’t go to school on November first. And maybe you shouldn’t either.

Goodreads



A Book A Thought (2)

I want to thank Netgalley and Ebbing Neptune Publishing for providing me with this copy in exchange for honest review

I’m pretty surprised right now, I think the end of this book is great and if you are looking for surprise I would recommend it.

Ashes to Ashes is a mystery and suspense book, which aims to keep the reader on the edge of his seat and has succeeded, certainly the best aspect of the book is its great content of mystery that causes you to ask questions constantly and try to find out what is happening all the time, and although you may feel something lost in some moments, I think that has a great conclusion in the end

description

I go for this book because of its great synopsis , sounds of the most interesting, the idea of the book in general is to keep you trapped in the plot to then give you a big surprise and that has left me very satisfied. I’ve seen that for some people the revelation of the plot has been somewhat hasty, not for me, but I can understand why, so I wouldn’t say that this is the book problem but of appreciations and in what each one are looking for in a mystery book

It has been a very easy to read book, I’ve enjoyed it, but at the same time I haven’t been able to connect 100% with the characters, which is always an important point for me, I think it was due to the lack of development of them, I think that the writer has turned entirely to create a great plot that catches the reader, and has neglected the characters a little, that’s my respectful opinion about. The dialogues seem forced at times which makes it difficult to think of the character as a real person, I don’t know if that makes sense, but it’s what I felt

I think the writer also included important points to analyze in the plot but at the same time I don’t think they have been touched deeply as I would have liked

description

And this doesn’t have to do with the book itself, but with its cover, I don’t like it at all, I think it could be much more catchy and be more connected with the plot, I think would have more attention , but it’s only a personal opinion, I have seen that many people like it so it’s depends the person I suppose

In the end it has been a enjoyable reading, I would recommend it if you want to surprise yourself and read a fast paced mistery book, even though I have had some problems with it, maybe aren’t problems for you



Rating

3.5 / 5 Stars



Feel free to leave your comment below, I always love to know what you think🙂

find me at

Goodreads | Twitter ❤

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Ashes to Ashes by Valerie Thomas

  1. Pingback: April Wrap Up [2017] | A Book. A Thought.

Leave a Reply

