Book Review: The Rain by Virginia Bergin

21116887

Title: The Rain (The Rain #1)

By: Virginia Bergin

Published:  July 17th 2014

By: Macmillan Children’s Books

Genre: YA-Sci_Fi-Apocalyptic-Distopian

It’s in the rain…and just one drop will kill you.

They don’t believe it at first. Crowded in Zach’s kitchen, Ruby and the rest of the partygoers laugh at Zach’s parents’ frenzied push to get them all inside as it starts to drizzle. But then the radio comes on with the warning, “It’s in the rain! It’s fatal, it’s contagious, and there’s no cure.”

Two weeks later, Ruby is alone. Anyone who’s been touched by rain or washed their hands with tap water is dead. The only drinkable water is quickly running out. Ruby’s only chance for survival is a treacherous hike across the country to find her father-if he’s even still alive.

Goodreads



copia-de-copia-de-lamington-1

It wasn’t in my plans to read this book this month, but once I started with it I felt like hooked up and decided to continue, what most caught my attention was the general concept of this apocalyptic world where the rain is contaminated with some alien organisms , Which make the contact of people with water will be deadly.
That is so amazing, I loved the idea and I found it super original.

Another thing that I also love is that the story unfolds in England , beautiful place that I love!

description

The writing style is curious beacuse Ruby tells her story from a near future by somehow making an autobiography of her life, the beginning is totally enthralling, and makes you think that Ruby will be a great main character, but sadly she isn’t , In fact I’ve had many problems with her way of thinking and her behavior,I understand that as she is 15 years old she has a somewhat immature attitude, but throughout the plot is all the time making decisions randomly and without thinking, it’s very annoying and arrogant. And I end up not liking this character at all, She really played with my nerves.

It’s the apocalypse and this girl literally went to steal lipstick, I mean , I just can’t believe it, these kind of attitudes seemed ridiculous to me.

description

Even though I didn’t like Ruby at all, I had no choice but to continue listening to her point of view, I think if it were a book with different views it would have been so much better!

It has sad and creepy scenes to shoke that I’ve liked, I think that there isn’t a good apocalyptic book without strong scenes and this certainly has them, a pity that Ruby has detracted from so much importance to each of those scenes

.
The ending was pretty confusing and I feel like the book goes a long way in Ruby trying to survive, or what she thinks that surviving is, and actually doesn’t make much progress and when other characters are present I really haven’t been able to know alot about them or at least it has seemed to me that they haven’t been well included in the plot

description

I’m not sure if I’m going to read the next one. Yes, I have doubts about what the humans will do now and how the story ends, but at the same time I don’t feel like listening to Ruby, so I don’t know, I’ll probably decide later .

In short, an incredible idea and well executed with a failed protagonist



Rating

2.5 / 5 Stars



Feel free to leave your comment below, I always love to know what you think🙂

find me at

Goodreads | Twitter ❤

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Rain by Virginia Bergin

  1. Pingback: March Wrap Up [2017] | A Book. A Thought.

Leave a Reply

