Book Review: Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

Resultado de imagen para everything everything book

Title : Everything Everything

By : Nicola Yoon

Published : September 1st 2015

By Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Genre:  YA – Romance – Contemporary

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Goodreads



Rating

5 / 5 Stars



“Everything’s a risk. Not doing anything is a risk. It’s up to you.”

Oh this was much more than I expected, I’m full of emotions right now, this book not only enchanted me, but I know it’s one of those that will stay with me forever.

description

Everything Everythingtells the story of an 18-year-old girl named Madeline, she has lived almost her entire life, more precisely since she was a baby, locked in her house without the possibility of being able to go outside, this is because she has an immune-deficient system disease that makes her prone to any type of allergic reaction, it can be anything, even air, so she could die. One day Mady sees through her window that some people move to the house next door, among them this boy Olly, who will make many things in her life change.

“Spoiler alert: Love is worth everything. Everything.”

This book takes us on a journey of self discovery, it deals with topics such as love and family in a unique, profound and different way, that will surely make you think and ask how you are living your life, the decisions you make and where you want to go .

Resultado de imagen para gif right in my feelings

Mady is a character that I’ve loved so much , she’s a girl who is full of desire to know things , to learn ,she really loves to read and you can see how she has a very kind type of soul , because despite having gone through so much and having lived her whole life in a very unconventional way, she tries to see everything in a very positive way, which is really good. I mean she could be angry with life, be depressed or regretting things, I think she have the reasons for, but still we see her fight day by day living this way

“Maybe growing up means disappointing the people we love.”

Olly is like a ray of sunshine or a breath of fresh air for the story, despite being a very normal boy, he’s also going through  tough things in his own family, which makes him put in a very unfair position for someone in his age. This made the romance seem even more special, for the fact that he’s so cool, fun and a little different even, it seemed so magical the way his relationship develops. It has been quite “normal” but at the same time has something that make me smile alot.

The moments of the final chapters are very shocking, surely you will be surprised as much  as me about the turn that the plot takes. At no time did I think that the book focuses just on romance, I think it’s much more than that, touches issues as important as hard and that is what gives, for me, the merit to the book. I repeat that the plot twist is incredible and I would never have suspected it until I reading it, it has left me a bittersweet sensation but I think Mady in the end has made good decisions.

Resultado de imagen para gif so good

The plot focuses very well on the main characters, the writer makes us get to love them and know them deeply, without letting the reading become heavy at any time. I think actually it’s a book that flows very easily, is so easy to read and highly enjoyable.

I highly recommend this book, if you want to read something unique and different with a bulletproof romance, besides it’s a super fast reading that will leave you things to think about.



Feel free to leave your comment below, I always love to know what you think🙂

You can also find me at Goodreads and Twitter ❤

26 thoughts on “Book Review: Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. I have read The Sun is Also a Star because everyone was raving about this one and figured I will read it later as well but I didn’t particularly fall in love with TSAS, so I am worried now!
    However seeing your review really gives me more confidence. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks to you for reading my review, I’m really glad that it helped you. I would tell you to give it an opportunity to Everything Everything because it might surprise you, I could not talk about TSAS because I haven’t read it yet, although I’m interested in doing it at some point 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesday [#2] | A Book. A Thought.

  3. I’m working on a post that celebrates bloggers in this community that have been a support and inspiration to me. I hope for you to participate by letting me know two things. One, is What are you passionate about? Two, is what is your favorite quote? Thank you so much for your comments and wonderful posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s an incredible idea and I’m so glad to be part of it :). Thank you for keeping me in mind, you’re very sweet.
      My answers would be, first. What passionates me? I suppose I could say the books and the reading, but that would be very obvious ajaja. I would say that my Family, because I’m very close to them and it’s something that I think I’m very passionate about, I would give anything for each one of them and Dance! , I do it since I was little and I love it , more specifically Caribbean rhythms :), .
      On the other hand my favorite phrase: It’s difficult to choose only one but it would be this: “One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.” – Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel. XOXO 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: January Wrap Up | A Book. A Thought.

  5. I absolutely adore this book, I finished it in one sitting. I normally struggle to find a book I can really enjoy and stay interested in but without a doubt I didn’t have any problem with this book. I will definitely be reading more of her writing for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: T10T: top ten books that will make you read the whole day away | A Book. A Thought.

  7. Pingback: T10T: Best Books You’ve Read In 2017 So Far | A Book. A Thought.

Leave a Reply

