Book Review : “Every Heart a Doorway” By Seanan McGuire

25526296

Title : Every Heart a Doorway

By : Seanan McGuire

Published : April 5th 2016

By: Tor.com

Genre : YA  – Contemporary –  Dark – Fantasy – Mystery

Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children
No Solicitations
No Visitors
No Guests

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere… else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced… they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

No matter the cost.



Rating

4.5 / 5



Review

 

“You’re nobody’s doorway but your own, and the only one who gets to tell you how your story ends is you.”

description

I really liked this book, I think it has a beautiful writing style and it’s so obvious to see how a book doesn’t need to have so many pages to tell a good story, to reach people and leave something to them; And this one is a great example of it.

The development of the characters is fantastic, the writer knows how to captivate the reader in a unique way and makes all the experience something very magical. The diversity that the book contains in terms of its characters is great, I’ve enjoyed reading this peculiar characters and they are so different from each other.

“We notice the silence of men. We depend upon the silence of women.”

The twists of the plot caught me completely, I started believing that it would be a very quiet book, since I started with it without knowing anything at all I didn’t really expect anything, which was good because all this paranormal and magical beginning took me by surprise, and it became increasingly darker , was certainly very difficult to leave.

“She was a story, not an epilogue.”

Even so, I expect a lot more from the characters in the future, there are still things I want to know about them, just like the plot, I want to know more! And wait anxiously for the sequel :).



I invite you to leave your comment below, I would love to know what you think!

Thanks for passing by!

You can also find me at Goodreads and Twitter 🙂

6 thoughts on “Book Review : “Every Heart a Doorway” By Seanan McGuire

  1. Great review! I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed this one! I got a copy when it was first published, but somehow I never actually picked it up. Beautiful writing and excellent character development makes me want to read it ASAP.

    Like

  2. Pingback: December Wrap Up | A Book. A Thought.

Leave a Reply

