Book Review : “Blood of Eden” Trilogy By : Julie Kagawa.

dab568c585d44c876f60faa94a547d76

Title : The Immortal Rules

By : Julie Kagawa

Published :  April 24th 2012

By:    Harlequin Teen

Genre : Fantasy – YA – Dystopian – Romance – Paranormal

To survive in a ruined world, she must embrace the darkness…

Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a walled-in city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten. Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of them—the vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself dies and becomes one of the monsters.

Forced to flee her city, Allie must pass for human as she joins a ragged group of pilgrims seeking a legend—a place that might have a cure for the disease that killed off most of civilization and created the rabids, the bloodthirsty creatures who threaten human and vampire alike. And soon Allie will have to decide what and who is worth dying for… again.

Enter Julie Kagawa’s dark and twisted world as an unforgettable journey begins.



Rating

4.5 / 5 Stars



Review

 

“You are a monster.” Kanin’s deep voice droned in my head again, as I forced myself to move, to walk away. “You will always be a monster, there is no turning back from it. But what type of monster you become is entirely up to you.”

Wow! I didn’t expect this, but I really liked this book, because it has made me out of my reading slump and that is a goal !.
:D. I’m very happy!.

It is my first book of Julie Kagawa and I’ve been delighted by its so fluid and entertaining way of writing, also I liked how incredible is the dystopian world where the story unfolds, the author has certainly managed to explain everything in a big way!
The way in which Kagawa introduce to the vampires within the plot is brilliant, unique and different.

I was looking for a reading of vampires and nothing seemed convince me until I met The Immortal Rules and I read the description and I knew I had to read it. When I started with it, I was afraid that I shall not have been fully involved with the plot ,as the story begins as something heavy in some parts, especially in the explanation of why the world is like it is and why it’s the way in which it is located, but I found myself trapped in the end by the incredible way of writing of the author, who I think is noteworthy

 

“The closer you got to someone, the more it would destroy you when they were inevitably gone.”

I immediately endears with the main character, I really like Allison Sekemoto, she is strong and tough and she never have afraid to say what she thinks. I admired her inner struggle to defend the humans against her vampire instinct, I think she has taken the whole issue in a very mature and sensible way, although she almost can’t contain herself at times, I think I can be agree or at least understand most of her actions

Kanin is one of the most interesting characters, I liked him to throughout the history , although doesn’t appear much as I would like, I think he brings the best messages to the plot and helps a lot to our protagonist to deal with her situation and face to life, I must say that I can’t wait to read more about him! :3, has captivated me and his history is addictive
He is powerful and personally I love him for Allie

 

“You don’t dwell on what you’ve lost, you just move on.”-Allison”


Guys I really loved this story I can’t wait to read more about it and its characters, highly recommended!.It’s a reading that undoubtedly has everything and for everybody !, Action, Drama, Romance and it will be manage to surprise you on more than one occasion!

I liked Zeke although I still like to read more about him to get a clearer idea of what I feel about this character, because although it is obviously a sweetness and a very noble human being, I can’t yet reach to him as I would like.

I would highlight the incredible writing this book has like a thousand times , but I recommend you find out for yourself will not regret. The created world is amazing manages to take extraordinary and dark places .BRILLANTE!

 



13581990

Title : The Eternity Cure

By : Julie Kagawa

Published :   April 30th 2013

By:    Harlequin Teen

Genre : Fantasy – YA – Dystopian – Romance – Paranormal

In Allison Sekemoto’s world, there is one rule left: Blood calls to blood

She has done the unthinkable: died so that she might continue to live. Cast out of Eden and separated from the boy she dared to love, Allie will follow the call of blood to save her creator, Kanin, from the psychotic vampire Sarren. But when the trail leads to Allie’s birthplace in New Covington, what Allie finds there will change the world forever—and possibly end human and vampire existence.

There’s a new plague on the rise, a strain of the Red Lung virus that wiped out most of humanity generations ago—and this strain is deadly to humans and vampires alike. The only hope for a cure lies in the secrets Kanin carries, if Allie can get to him in time.

Allison thought that immortality was forever. But now, with eternity itself hanging in the balance, the lines between human and monster will blur even further, and Allie must face another choice she could never have imagined having to make.



Rating

5 / 5 Stars



Review

“There are no good choices, Allison,’ Kanin offered in a quiet voice. ‘There are only those you can live with, and those you can work to change.”

Not many times happens to me, but this time I had to wait a while to process everything that had happened and put my thoughts in order so I hope can write a decent review, here I go 🙂

When I finished the first book, literally I went immediately for the next one,I was excited to see how the story would continue , and to be honest my expectations were very high, while the second books in the trilogies aren’t always the best really expect much from this and guess what?!, well, this one almost completely fulfilled my expectations !.

In The Eternity Cure we find a much more mature Allie , prepared to face this apocalyptic world that Kagawa was able to create so well, We see her more rude and much more comfortable in her vampire body , and this, in fact, is one of the points that more I liked about this book. I enjoyed a lot of action scenes where Allie looks so incredible !, although you can see that it continues her struggle against her internal demon and vampire she wants to be, I think the result is fantastic,this is certainly an incredible main character, which makes me feel very pleased and achieves high-impact scenes which you can’t stop reading.#BADASSGIRL!

Jackal has been a great revelation to me, is a super interesting character who brings humor and the best dialogues that this book has. I did not expect to feel so attached to him, but he has earned my respect even though his so particular methods haha, I don’t want to talk much about him, because he is an amazing character and you know, Spoilers !. I can say that this character will test you and has made me want to kill him sometimes, but I love him so much!
He is the typical sexy vampire which is so bad, you know , but there is much more you can see in this book about him , and perhaps, I hope, much more Jackal in the last one:)

 

“I sheathed my blade and glared at him. “And here I almost thought you weren’t a complete bastard.”

“Well, that’s your mistake, not mine.”

Kanin continue to hold his post of best character in this trilogy, I love him so much !. So much suffering for Kanin in this book, there are many things to discover about his past and one that we know that will make us understand why his actions and why so much hate from another vampires. To my, Kanin never fails at any time to be an extremely important figure in the history, his relationship with Allie has grown a lot and I was delighted to see each of their moments together, I think they have come to love and care each other as a family and that sort of tie they share is one of the sweetest things in such a dark world.He has never ceased to bring you mystery and suspense to the plot, a very strong character and without doubt one of the most human, even though he is a vampire 🙂 lol.#TEAMKANIN!

 

“Kanin peered down at me, his impassive gaze softening just a touch. “I am no longer your teacher, Allison,” he said quietly. “You have been one of us for a while now. You have hunted, and you have killed. It is not my responsibility to curb you demon.” He glanced past me to the place Stick and the men had stood moments before. “And I wanted to see what type of monster you had become.”

I have to admit that Zeke has surprised me this time, it was a real surprise since its appearance in the plot, which is quite unexpected, I think he has grown a lot as a person, and no doubt it has brought enough more personality this time, it was nice read it, I enjoyed it. On the other hand I also think I’m not even sure about his relationship with Allie and as always they are kissing each other in the most wrong places! OMG guys, sometimes just is not the time. That has irritated me a bit lol.However , I must admit the growth of the character and I was happy to read about him again 🙂 :).

 

“You’re still beautiful and dangerous and incredible, and I’ll keep telling you that for as long as it takes you to believe it. But right now, all I want to do is kiss you, except I’m terrified that if I try you might throw me off this balcony.”

So yeah, this book has delighted me and left me super excited for the final book !. I think it’s a thousand times better than the first one, and keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout the reading. Highly recommended! 🙂



17883441

Title : The Forever Song

By : Julie Kagawa

Published :   April 15th 2014

By:    Harlequin Teen

Genre : Fantasy – YA – Dystopian – Romance – Paranormal

Vengeance will be hers.

Allison Sekemoto once struggled with the question: human or monster? With the death of her love, Zeke, she has her answer.

Monster.

Allie will embrace her cold vampire side to hunt down and end Sarren, the psychopathic vampire who murdered Zeke. But the trail is bloody and long, and Sarren has left many surprises for Allie and her companions – her creator Kanin, and her blood brother, Jackal. The trail is leading straight to the one place they must protect at any cost – the last vampire-free zone on Earth, Eden. And Sarren has one final, brutal shock in store for Allie.

In a ruined world where no life is sacred and former allies can turn on you in one heartbeat, Allie will face her darkest days. And if she succeeds, her triumph will be short-lived in the face of surviving forever alone.

THE FINAL HUNT IS ON.



Rating

5 / 5 Stars



Review

 

“I am proud of you, Allison Sekemoto,” he whispered “Whatever you decide, whatever path you choose to take, I hope that you will remain the same girl I met that night in the rain. The one decision for which I have no regrets.”

It is always difficult to start a review when you have so many feelings about a book, especially in a trilogy or saga, but I think at the same time or at least in my case, I can express better my opinions and so I can calm down myself a little too lol .

We can see a very different Allie this time, in her trip to Eden, along with Kanin and Jackal, after the death of Zeke, she is determined to leave the feelings of the past behind of her and make way for her demon part, which dominates her completely in the early chapters of history , thus becoming a more dangerous vampire.
I really liked this change in her, although clearly the change is due to a very sad thing it has happened in her life, I think Allie had to experience it to really understand what being a vampire means, and what are the real consequences about it .

I think of the three books this is in my opinion, that more action scenes has, made me feel as if the characters were in real danger constantly, causing the plot catch me and I’ve want to read on to discover who lives or who dies.

When you feel so attached to the plot, when you don’t know what is happening or will happen, and even so continuous to the reading, it is totally merit of the writer, and in this case as I mentioned Julie Kagawa is amazing doing it!. Now I’m sure that will not take anything in deciding to reading a new book of hers :).

 

“If we are talking about choice and regret, what has happened cannot be undone. And dwelling on the past changes nothing. You will only drive yourself to insanity if you do.”

 

Has left me so happy that I feel very good about each of the characters, absolutely all have grown much and I’ll miss everyone.

Jackal is so funny, outgoing and always saying what he thinks, although the most unexpected things lol, he has no filter. I love him so much, is a character without waste, I think I easily I would read a whole book about him. I am very pleased with how everything has ended for him, I would have liked something else, not gonna lie, but it was very fine.

 

“You know,” Jackal said, kicking a rabid in the face, sending it reeling, “it seems that whenever I’m with you, I’m constantly fighting my way into places I really don’t want to be. The sewers, the Prince’s tower, a bloody freaking church.”

 

Kanin always be definitely my favorite character!
This master vampire has won my heart, it is a noble being and his dispocision to help others is always worth noting, I think that the plot would not have been the same without him, is a character, essential for that history has finished as just end .

 

“No.” Kanin’s voice was suddenly hard, terrifying. “You are simply using your demon to hide from what you really feel. Because you are afraid of what that means, that it might be painful. It is far easier to be a monster than to confront the truth.”

 

I can’t tell much more without make this a big spoiler haha, but I CRY LIKE A BABY! .

What I want you to know is that there has been an incredible journey, since Allie was turned into a vampire until the end, although there have been little things that don’t make it a favorite for me, there are thousands who I will always remember. Absolutely brilliant plot, charming characters that you gonna love, undoubtedly, others that you gonna hate with all your soul (as Sarren, I add, is an amazing villain), many survival , especially too many surprises and strong feelings!. So if you ask me if I would recommend this trilogy to you, I would answer ALWAYS! :).



I invite you to leave your comment below, I would love to know what you think!

Thanks for passing by!

You can also find me at Goodreads

6 thoughts on “Book Review : “Blood of Eden” Trilogy By : Julie Kagawa.

  1. Great reviews! I loved Kanin the most too! Although jackal was just so pricelessly funny too! I’m glad you liked this trilogy. I did think the last book kind of ruined some things but overall it was a nice vampire story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

