Book Review : Ever the Hunted (Clash of Kingdoms, #1) By Erin Summerill

images-1

Title : Ever the Hunted

By : Erin Summerill

Published : December 27th 2016

By:   HMH Books for Young Readers

Genre : Fantasy – YA – Dystopian – Romance

Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam—that is, until her father is murdered. Now outcast and alone and having no rights to her father’s land or inheritance, she seeks refuge where she feels most safe: the Ever Woods. When Britta is caught poaching by the royal guard, instead of facing the noose she is offered a deal: her freedom in exchange for her father’s killer.

However, it’s not so simple.

The alleged killer is none other than Cohen McKay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known. The boy she once loved who broke her heart. She must go on a dangerous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the real killer. But Britta wields more power than she knows. And soon she will learn what has always made her different will make her a daunting and dangerous force.

Rating

3/5 Stars

Review

 

That cover is one of the most beautiful I’ve seen guys! 🙂

*I received a free ARC copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.* Thanks!

I had anticipated so much this book and I  was so happy about the possibility of reading it with the ARC that Netgalley has provided me, I know that my expectations were high and that wasn’t  probably a good thing, but I couldn’t connect entirely with it, I feel that there are many things with which I don’t I felt comfortable, which I will now specify.

 

Firstly, I think the book promised a lot of action, adventure and a great main character, who seemed to be a strong woman and a amazing heroine . So, one enters to the story with great expectations waiting for something epic and sadly it wasn’t what I found.

Britta is our main character, a very beautiful blonde girl who has a great special hability , whose father has been murdered and a great childhood love for which she suffers in most of the book. All this has seemed to me too cliche, but hey, it’s not something for which I usually surrender with a book, I understand that at the time of writing a plot for YA  one tends to fall into this kind of stereotypes. Even so, I couldn’t stop thinking that I thought I would meet a main character much stronger and more determined, not a girl who only thinks about her old love, right ?.

 

I really liked the world-building ,I love The Ever Woods ,  I think that even though it needs more work, it had a lot of potential to get the mystery and suspense that was very good for the plot. I think the writer can do a lot with this world in the next books, You can also find a map in the book, it’s a very nice detail and it gives you the ability to release and let fly much more the imagination when you reading.

 

One of the biggest mistakes that this book has, according to my opinion of course, is that all the time we are reading under one point of view, which is in this case Britta and if you don’t like her, then you will feel that the reading is going to become heavy, which obviously is not a good thing, because it prevents you from putting your attention on other things, that are very good things.

 

The revelations were somewhat predictable, so it hasn’t given me many surprises.

I found it easy enough to read, beyond having 400 pages I think I haven’t felt that, which is good.

 

The romance has been a problem for me, first I didn’t like Britta’s relationship with Cohen, it was all the time so obvious that they felt things for echother, but for some reason they extended it too much with no reason, and everything became quite Annoying, I don’t even know how to talk about this properly. I can’t stand it at all, guys, and it’s weird that I don’t enjoy the romamce because I’m usually do it! But not this time, not at all.

 

So, I would probably recommend this reading for those people who have no problem with the predictable plots and cliches or haven’t read too much fantasy, you probably enjoy it. Haven’t a bad writing style either. :). So if you’ve read a lot of fantasy this is probably nothing new for you.

 

I invite you to leave your comment below, I would love to know what you think!

Thanks for passing by!

You can also find me at Goodreads

Leave a Reply

