Book Review : “Shatter Me” Trilogy by Tahereh Mafi.

shatter-me-new-eye-co1a459

Title : Shatter Me

By : Tahereh Mafi

Published : November 15th 2011

By:  Harper

Genre : Fantasy – YA – Dystopian – Romance – Paranormal

I have a curse
I have a gift

I am a monster
I’m more than human

My touch is lethal
My touch is power

I am their weapon
I will fight back

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

Rating

4/5 Stars 

 

Review

“I have a curse.
I HAVE A GIFT.
I’m a monster.
I’M MORE THAN HUMAN.
My touch Is lethal.
MY TOUCH IS POWER.
I am their weapon.
I WILL FIGHT BACK.”

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this!.

Like many I had said, yes , I finished attached to the characters !. From Adam to Juliette and Warner they are all very good characters with very well-defined personalities.
But my heart has been with Warner from the beginning and I need to know more about him RIGHT NOW ! Omg is so interesting!
The plot is very interesting from the start, of course that highlights the incredible of the writing of this book, because guys, I’ve been in love with the way of writing that has Tahereh!. So beautiful, unique and completely addictive!
if it has taken me a while to finish reading it, it was simply because I have no time to read (universal dilemma of most LOL), because this book is mainly characterized because, once you start with it is very difficult to leave it !. I had read it in one sitting if I could.
Juliette is a great main character for the story, from the beginning won my heart, for the difficult things she has been through (for his “condition”), how hard it has been her childhood and the relationship with her parents, just, broke my heart.
There were moments in which I thought, “Why you does this or Why you say that?”, I think she was a little lost in some pretty obvious situations to understand, from my point of view, but then you think she’s been locked up for a while and has not had intimately contact with anyone in her life, and her actions have much more sense.

“I spent my life folded between the pages of books.
In the absence of human relationships I formed bonds with paper characters. I lived love and loss through stories threaded in history; I experienced adolescence by association. My world is one interwoven web of words, stringing limb to limb, bone to sinew, thoughts and images all together. I am a being comprised of letters, a character created by sentences, a figment of imagination formed through fiction.”

Adam is a character that I liked, but it took me a while to love him, I liked more in the end, in the action scenes, but for others things I consider him as the typical hero of the story, quite stereotype, handsome boy, who saves te girl and I don’t know yet I’m not convinced about it. But I have faith on him, and I hope revelations for this character , maybe change my mind 🙂

“His lips soften into a smile that cracks apart my spine. He repeats my name like the word amuses him. Entertains him. Delights him. In seventeen years no one has said my name like that”

Warner is my love lol, I feel a great connection with this character, it is dark and hides a mystery that catches my attention. It is so interesting and sexy , I’m dying to know more of its history, really, I know it is something perverse in this book but you can’t deny that his scenes with Juliette are INCREDIBLE. High Voltage guys!,even when only they speak to each other. So Good! . I don’t know how she resists to him!

“His smile is laced with dynamite. “Go to sleep”
“Go to hell.”
He works his jaw. Walks to the door. “I’m working on it.”

So I’m dying to continue the story I loved it, especially the last pages and the plot twist has surprised me !. I love the whole powers thing . Very clever twist! YAY!.

 

n403207Title :Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2)

By : Tahereh Mafi

Published :  February 5th 2013

 By:  HarperCollins

Genre : Fantasy – YA – Dystopian – Romance – Paranormal

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

Rating

4/5 Stars

 

Review

I enjoyed it !. This is a beautiful story 🙂

“Books are easily destroyed. But words will live as long as people can remember them.”

I want to begin by saying that, although I expected more of this book, I liked it, the way it is written is incredible and I never tire of saying it!. So deep and raw.
I confess that this time it took me a while to immerse myself in the reading, especially in the beginning. I think the real story begins from the middle forward, because I do not think that the first 200 pages have contributed to much to the plot, I think the introduction of the life of Juliette in Omega Point, her problems to socialize and her relationship with Adam (which has repetitive dialogues, that for me, have not led to nowhere) I have seemed quite irrelevant and even think they could have talked about it, very clearly, in less pages. But that’s just my opinion, on the other hand, I ended up liking me a lot this book.

Let’s talk about about this incredible book! YAY!
I loved the unexpected things that happen with the powers and the darker twist given to it in this one,I absolutely love the growth of Juliette in this area, she has learned a lot in this book about what is capable of doing, and their use and how and when it is really necessary and useful, I hope with the heart that achieves also grow her personality to be a complete kick ass in the next book :), because although it remains very insecure in their decisions throughout the book, particular decisions that I don’t understand !!!, I feel much affection for her, so I’m willing to wait.

“On the darkest days you have to search for a spot of brightness, on the coldest days you have to seek out a spot of warmth; on the bleakest days you have to keep your eyes onward and upward and on the saddest days you have to leave them open to let them cry. To then let them dry. To give them a chance to wash out the pain in order to see fresh and clear once again.”

Kenji has surprised me so much in this book, I love him, no doubt I love it !. It has a charming personality, is clear and very decided, and personally think that without his helps Juliette would not have learned anything. I really appreciate that has been persevering with her, he is a great friend too and without count that is always joking taking away the weight to the worst situations, also has achieved to scare me as hell, I hope Tahereh care of him!
And finally, you can imagine, the best … WARNER !. Guys I’ve died and been reborn a thousand times with every word that comes from him , Warner’s dialogues with Juliette in this book are fantastic !, the best without doubt.
Not only the dialogues between them have left me speechless, the scenes between them are perfect, are designed and written so magical and so smart, I just saw myself immersed in that world. And the plot twist that takes in their relationship, I just, I loved it! . Tahereh has made my heart beat like crazy more than once and I’m so happy.

“I want to be the friend you fall hopelessly in love with. The one you take into your arms and into your bed and into the private world you keep trapped in your head. I want to be that kind of friend. The one who will memorize the things you say as well as the shape of your lips when you say them. I want to know every curve, every freckle, every shiver of your body.I want to know where to touch you, I want to know how to touch you. I want to know convince you to design a smile just for me. Yes, I do want to be your friend. I want to be your best friend in the entire world.”

I really like the end, but of course I have thousands of questions and dying to know the end of this story as it has earned its place in my heart 🙂

 

14596343a89149583d27318d083455d0Title : Ignite Me (Shatter Me #3)

By : Tahereh Mafi

Published :  February 4th 2014

 By:  HarperCollins

Genre : Fantasy – YA – Dystopian – Romance – Paranormal

The heart-stopping conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, which Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, called “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love.”

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Legend by Marie Lu. Tahereh Mafi has created a captivating and original story that combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, and was praised by Publishers Weekly as “a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” Now this final book brings the series to a shocking and satisfying end.

Rating

5/5 Stars

 

Review

“Ignite, my love. Ignite.”

I NEED TO GIVE IT MORE STARS!!
Omg !, This has been so incredible !. I have to put my thoughts in order and start …. but guys, it was awesome!
I have many mixed feelings right now from a lot of excitement and joy , until nostalgia and sad . :(.
Speaking about the serie in general, I think it’s one of those that I’ll remember forever, it has made me so happy and has made me feel in love with the characters, it is a book I would recommend without doubt ever . You can find yourself in a super interesting dystopian world and with the most original characters that give a lot to the plot , which has one of the most beautiful scripts I’ve read .So good !.

“It’s the kind of kiss that inspires stars to climb into the sky and light up the world.”

The characters have grown so much in the trilogy, I’m really very proud of them, Tehereh has achieved with her so wonderful writing give the characters an incredible progress, especially in this book, we see the clear growth of Juliette, which has gone from being a helpless frightened girl , to be the kicks-ass hero we all wanted to see !. I’m so happy about it, I love Juliette!

I have come to understand the so beautiful covers that these books have, as the evolution of Juliette through time and I loved it, very symbolic and beautiful.

“I like the way I feel about myself when I’m with him.” I say quietly. “Warner thinks I’m strong and smart and capable and he actually values my opinion. He makes me feel like his equal–like I can accomplish just as much as he can, and more. And if I do something incredible, he’s not even surprised. He expects it. He doesn’t treat me like I’m some fragile little girl who needs to be protected all the time.”

Ok, try to talk properly about Warner is just impossible, I can’t describe with words how much I love this character. Oh I’m so in love !.
It goes without saying that I love him, especially in this book, Warner’s progress is incredible. I’ve always loved the way he supports Juliette despite everything, even though she has not left him anything easy , he just never surrendered with her .. That’s so sweet. And the way this story has ended for him has been perfect, I think he has won a lot in his life and I feel that really is striving to change and open up to others, that’s excellent.
P.S: I need a Warner in my life right now. He is so hot

“I promise myself then, in that moment, that I will hold him forever, just like this, until all the pain and torture and suffering is gone, until he’s given a chance to live the kind of life where no one can wound him this deeply ever again.”

Kenji has given a special seasoning to the history always bringing humor and sweetness. I love him!.
The dialogues with Juliette are gold, so honest!, Gives much pleasure to read. Fully one of the most beautiful friendships I’ve read! 🙂

“Hey, um, I’m sorry to bother you, but I’m looking for a friend of mine,” he says. “Have you seen her? She’s a tiny little thing, cries a lot, spends too much time with her feelings-“
“Shut up, Kenji!”
“Oh wait!” he says. “It is you.”

I’ve never felt love for Adam and personally think that he was so annoying in this book, I think it still is a character who needs grow up. I can’t help it , but I have to give him the credit because I think that thanks to him Juliette has become who she is today, with his defiant personality , Adam achievement awaken the warrior on her.
So guys, super recommend this saga now and forever !, is so magical and amazing, not wasted … The world is unique, the characters are incredible and has a captivating plot !. So amazing!

 

If you have read the trilogy, I invite you to leave your comment below, I would love to know what you think, whether you liked it or not! :).

Thanks for passing by!

You can also find me at Goodreads

4 thoughts on “Book Review : “Shatter Me” Trilogy by Tahereh Mafi.

  1. I read the first book about two years ago and have no idea why I never bought the rest. But, I bought the 2nd one recently and it is on its way! I can’t wait to continue this trilogy! Nice review (I only read the first… and maybe some quotes from the other two 😀)

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Unique Blogger Award! | meltingpotsandothercalamities

Leave a Reply

